Assessed 16 July 2026 under NZ · Medium confidence
Evidence last captured 29 August 2026 · oldest 27 August 2026 · next re-check due 27 August 2027
We contacted this company 2 times between 6 August 2026 and 19 August 2026, by email and phone. No reply received.
A grade rules on whether a public claim is substantiated. It is not a finding about environmental performance, truthfulness, or the merit of the business. HowLegit is not a licensed adviser and nothing here is legal or investment advice.
All 21 energy companies, assessed against the same checklist in the same window.
Pulse Energy ranks 21 of 21 in this sector by overall score, between 47.6% and 96.0%.
The Power Compare page states consumers can 'freely terminate with no charge at any time' while its own footnote discloses a $150+GST early termination fee.
Why this matters. The Power Compare page states consumers can 'freely terminate with no charge at any time' while a footnote on the same page discloses a $150 plus GST early termination fee. A reasonable consumer reading the headline would not expect to be charged for leaving. In November 2014 the Commerce Commission warned Pulse Energy Limited, a predecessor entity, recording its view that the company was likely to have compared its GST-exclusive rates with customers' GST-inclusive rates.
“No long term contracts. We don't believe in long term contracts. You can freely terminate with no charge at any time.”
Contradicted by the footnote on the same page: "No Early Termination Fee applies with 30 days' notice. The normal fee is $150+GST." A reader taking the headline sentence at its word would not expect a fee. Section 9 of the Fair Trading Act 1986 addresses conduct liable to mislead and section 13(g) false representations about price. A charge is levied on exit: under the entity's own terms a customer who leaves inside the qualifying period pays money a customer who stays does not.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“Switching your electricity is easy… join us today and you'll receive $180 off your first power bill.* *Terms apply. Valid for new customers only.”
Switching is accurately described. The process in New Zealand is standardised through the Electricity Authority registry, Pulse provides contact routes by phone and online form, and nothing here overstates what switching involves. The $180 joining credit is stated with a visible asterisk and the qualifier "Terms apply. Valid for new customers only" on the same line, so the offer and its stated limit are read together. The full terms behind that asterisk were not retrieved during collection, so what the credit depends on beyond new-customer eligibility is not assessed here.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
Toitu net carbonzero certification covers operational emissions only, not the gas and LPG products sold to customers. Scope distinction is not disclosed.
Why this matters. Pulse Energy holds Toitu net carbonzero certification for its operational emissions, but sells natural gas and LPG alongside electricity. The certification covers office operations, not the fossil fuels supplied to customers. Without disclosure of this distinction, consumers could reasonably believe Pulse Energy's products are carbon neutral when the certification applies only to the company's own footprint.
“Toitu net carbonzero certification (operational emissions)”
Third party certified, and the page states its own scope: operational emissions measured under ISO 14064-1, covering vehicles, business travel, fuel and electricity, paper and waste, with unavoidable emissions offset by buying carbon credits. The certification does not cover the gas and LPG the company sells, and nothing on the estate sets the two side by side.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
The goal of sourcing more renewable energy carries no timeline, no milestones and no progress reporting on any Pulse surface.
Why this matters. The goal of sourcing more renewable energy carries no timeline, milestones or progress reporting on any page a customer meets. The parent group reports a renewable share of the volume it sells in its audited annual report, and that figure is not carried on any Pulse surface. Without a pathway the reader can see, the goal reads as positioning rather than commitment.
“Our goal is to source more of our power supply for our customers from renewable energy sources in NZ”
Correctly framed as an aspiration rather than a statement about supply today, which is the right form for a goal. No pathway is published alongside it on any Pulse surface: there is no interim target, no timeline, no baseline year and no progress reporting against it anywhere on the site. The wording is the company's own, taken from the Why Pulse page, which is a main navigation item on every page.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
Pulse displays the Toitu net carbonzero mark in the footer of every page, at about 85 pixels, linked to the page that explains it. The mark is real and current, and it certifies the company's own operations: the carbonzero page states it measures vehicles, business travel, fuel and electricity, paper and waste, with unavoidable emissions offset. The electricity, natural gas and LPG the company sells sit outside that boundary, and the boundary is not stated anywhere the mark appears. A reader meeting the mark on a page selling gas is not told what it covers.
Why this matters. A certification mark is the strongest environmental signal a company can put in front of a customer, because it carries someone else's authority. Where it is shown matters as much as what it certifies: this one appears on every page, including the pages selling natural gas and LPG, while its scope is explained on one page a reader has to go and find. The mark is legitimate, and what is missing is the boundary beside it.
“Toitu net carbonzero certification (operational emissions)”
Third party certified, and the page states its own scope: operational emissions measured under ISO 14064-1, covering vehicles, business travel, fuel and electricity, paper and waste, with unavoidable emissions offset by buying carbon credits. The certification does not cover the gas and LPG the company sells, and nothing on the estate sets the two side by side.
Captured 29 August 2026 · source page ↗
The renewable energy goal is correctly framed as aspirational but has no roadmap, milestone tracking, or external commitment such as SBTi or RE100 for accountability.
Why this matters. The goal to source more renewable energy is correctly framed as an aspiration, not an achievement. However, without a roadmap, milestone tracking, or external commitment such as SBTi or RE100, there is no mechanism for stakeholders to assess whether progress is being made toward this goal.
“Our goal is to source more of our power supply for our customers from renewable energy sources in NZ”
Correctly framed as an aspiration rather than a statement about supply today, which is the right form for a goal. No pathway is published alongside it on any Pulse surface: there is no interim target, no timeline, no baseline year and no progress reporting against it anywhere on the site. The wording is the company's own, taken from the Why Pulse page, which is a main navigation item on every page.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
'100% community owned' is technically accurate but the ownership chain involves nested limited partnerships and charitable trusts not disclosed to consumers.
Why this matters. The '100% community owned' claim is technically accurate but the ownership structure -- Central Lakes Trust to Pioneer Energy Group to Pioneer Energy Renewables to Pulse Energy Alliance LP -- involves multiple nested limited partnerships. Most consumers would interpret 'community owned' as direct community control, not a multi-layered corporate chain with charitable trust origins.
“100% community owned" / "100% community-owned, with deep roots in Alexandra and Westport”
Technically accurate: Central Lakes Trust (charitable) and Buller Electric Power Trust (consumer-owned) are ultimate owners. But multi-layered LP structure is not disclosed. Consumer interpretation of "community owned" differs from legal reality.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“Proudly local, we're here for communities right across New Zealand”
Aspirational positioning. Company HQ in Auckland; ownership roots in Alexandra and Westport. Serves communities nationwide. Accurately framed.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“Proudly partners with the Highlanders rugby team continuously since 2016”
Verifiable. Highlanders website confirms partnership. Timeframe specified.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“Since 2024, Pulse Energy has proudly supported and partnered with the Otago Cricket team”
Verifiable partnership claim with specific start date (2024). Otago Cricket team partnership is documented on community pages. Timeframe and team are specific and independently confirmable.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“helped over 10,000 customers since the Programme launched in 2020" (Pay it Forward)”
Quantified impact claim with timeframe and specific beneficiary count. The Pay it Forward programme is documented with a $150,000 commitment and Canstar Blue Innovation Excellence Award 2021 providing third-party validation.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“Gold Best Places to Work™ Certified”
Third-party certification. BPTW Certification recognises "leadership, connection and belonging, wellbeing, innovation, growth, and sustainability across the employee experience." Verifiable.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“80,000+ customers”
Consistent with adversarial research findings (73,000-80,000+ across Alliance brands). Approximate figure appropriately qualified with "+".
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
The Consumer Care Policy and the Pay it Forward programme are documented social investment. Against that, the site does not disclose three Commerce Commission matters or the six 111 Contact Code infringement notices issued to this company.
Why this matters. Pulse Energy's Consumer Care Policy and Pay it Forward programme are documented social investment. Against that, three Commerce Commission matters, six 111 Contact Code infringement notices, an Electricity Authority compliance plan from February 2023 and a Trustpilot score of 2.3 out of 5 across 43 reviews are not disclosed anywhere on the website. These are material to a customer judging how the company has treated people.
“Pulse Energy have committed to contributing $150,000 in the first year" (Pay it Forward)”
Quantified commitment with specific dollar amount. Canstar Blue Innovation Excellence Award 2021 provides third-party validation.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“Canstar Blue Innovation Excellence Award – Energy 2021”
Third-party award. Verifiable. Correctly attributed to the Pay it Forward Programme specifically.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“Employee benefits: "Competitive remuneration package," "Southern Cross health insurance," "4% KiwiSaver," "EAP counselling," "fully subsidized life trauma & disability insurance”
Specific benefits listed. Industry-standard for NZ employers of this size. Verifiable through employment contracts.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“Consumer Care Policy "complies with the Consumer Care Obligation”
CCO compliance is a regulatory requirement verified by the Electricity Authority. Policy published with link to EA for further detail.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“We pride ourselves on having robust Health and Safety programmes in place”
The claim is not substantiated anywhere a reader of it can reach. The careers page states it and offers no certification, audit result or incident statistic beside it, and no other Pulse page carries one. Substantiation does exist one level up: the parent group's audited annual report for the year to 31 March 2026 states that certification to ISO 45001, the international standard for health and safety management, was retained during the year. That report does not say which group entities sit inside the certificate's scope, and no Pulse page refers to it.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
Sponsorships page lists a Crusaders partnership from 2021 and an Oparara Trail Run from June 2022 without updates. AskNicely shows only positive feedback while Trustpilot rates 2.5/5.
Why this matters. The sponsorships page lists a Crusaders partnership announced as new from 2021 and an Oparara Trail Run dated June 2022, neither updated. The company's own newer Crusaders page uses the correct form, "a proud partner since 2021", so the two pages describe the same relationship differently. The feedback panel on the home page shows selected positive comments and the site carries no independent rating beside them.
“Crusaders: "Pulse Energy has become a proud partner of the Crusaders from 2021"”
The sponsorships page announces the partnership as new, saying Pulse Energy "has become a proud partner of the Crusaders from 2021". That page's own title is "Pulse Energy Sponsorships Old". The company's current community page lists the Highlanders, Otago Cricket, Nurturing Families and Pay it Forward and does not mention the Crusaders, and the Crusaders' own partner listing does not name Pulse Energy. The dated wording is the one sitting above a sign-up offer.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“Oparara Wilderness Trail Run, dated 24 June 2022”
The sponsorships page presents the Oparara Wilderness Trail Run as taking place on Friday 24 June 2022. Both domains published for that event, opararawildernesstrail.co.nz and opararawildernesstrailrun.co.nz, no longer resolve, and no running of the event later than June 2022 was found on the public record searched on 29 August 2026. The company's current community page still names the run among its sponsorships, without a date.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“AskNicely customer feedback widget (positive reviews)”
The feedback platform selects high scoring responses by design. The site carries no independent rating anywhere, so a reader sees the curated view and nothing beside it.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
Pay it Forward has quantified outcomes ($150K, 10,000+ beneficiaries) but six 111 Contact Code infringements affecting elderly consumers on medical alarms are undisclosed.
Why this matters. Pay it Forward has quantified outcomes, being $150,000 committed in the first year, more than 10,000 customers helped and a Canstar Blue award. Against that, six infringement notices under the 111 Contact Code bear directly on Grey Power Electricity customers, who are older and more likely to depend on a landline or a medical alarm in an outage. The company publishes the protections that code creates, on a page carried in its main navigation, and publishes its own record against them nowhere.
“Our Powering Your Community Fund helps local schools, clubs, and projects make a real difference”
"Make a real difference" is aspirational without quantified outcomes. No data on number of grants, amounts distributed, or impact metrics.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“We want you to have a warm and healthy home”
Aspirational framing within Consumer Care Policy context. Supported by energy efficiency resources, Warmer Kiwi Homes referral, and hardship support mechanisms.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“Pulse Energy Recreation Centre: "12% off gym memberships and free swimming pool entry once per year"”
Specific benefit with quantified discount. Verifiable at the Recreation Centre.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
'Low-cost electricity' and 'competitive rates' are stated without comparison data or independent benchmarking. The Schedule of Fees is published transparently.
Why this matters. 'Low-cost electricity' and 'competitive rates' are stated without comparison data, independent benchmarking, or substantiation. While the Schedule of Fees is published transparently, the pricing claims themselves rely on consumer trust rather than verifiable evidence. A link to billy.govt.nz exists but is not prominently placed.
“low-cost electricity, gas, and broadband to homes across NZ”
"Low-cost" is a comparative claim without benchmark, comparator data, or independent substantiation. billy.govt.nz link offered but does not itself substantiate Pulse's "low-cost" claim.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“Low price upfront”
Comparative framing ("low") without benchmark. No comparison data.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“Transparent Billing: "We provide transparent billing on our electricity bills by itemising the charges so our customers know exactly what they are paying for"”
Self-referential but verifiable: billing format is observable. Schedule of fees published. Bills are itemised.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“competitive rates and transparent pricing”
"Competitive" implies a comparison without substantiation. The transparent pricing half is supported, because the schedule of fees is published and reachable from every page. The unsupported half determines the result, because a criterion is carried by its weakest claim.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“We do not increase prices so that a prompt payment discount can be given; instead, you will be offered the best price from the start”
Legitimate competitive differentiation. Verifiable: Pulse does not offer prompt payment discounts (confirmed by fee schedule). "Best price from the start" refers to pricing philosophy, not price stability.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
'Competitive rates' and 'low price upfront' imply comparison with other providers without naming a comparator or publishing benchmark data.
Why this matters. 'Competitive rates' and 'low price upfront' imply comparison with other providers but no comparator is named and no benchmark data is published. The billy.govt.nz link for independent comparison is a positive signal but does not itself substantiate Pulse Energy's pricing claims.
“low-cost electricity, gas, and broadband to homes across NZ”
"Low-cost" is a comparative claim without benchmark, comparator data, or independent substantiation. billy.govt.nz link offered but does not itself substantiate Pulse's "low-cost" claim.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“Low price upfront”
Comparative framing ("low") without benchmark. No comparison data.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“competitive rates and transparent pricing”
"Competitive" implies a comparison without substantiation. The transparent pricing half is supported, because the schedule of fees is published and reachable from every page. The unsupported half determines the result, because a criterion is carried by its weakest claim.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“billy.govt.nz link for independent comparison”
Positive disclosure: directs consumers to free, government-operated independent comparison tool rather than making own comparison claims.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
Power Compare page quotes broadband 'from only $69+GST per month' which does not match any current plan price. The electricity ETF is not in the Schedule of Fees.
Why this matters. The Power Compare page quotes broadband 'from only $69 plus GST per month' which does not match any current plan price. The cheapest Lite Fibre plan is $70 per month including GST. Additionally, the $150 plus GST electricity early termination fee is not listed on the published Schedule of Fees, despite the broadband ETF being included.
“All Energy Discount when you bundle power and gas”
Discount referenced but quantum not disclosed. Consumer cannot determine the value of the discount without contacting Pulse.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“from only $69+GST per month" (broadband, Power Compare page)”
The figure does not match any plan the company sells. At $69 plus GST the advertised entry price is $79.35 including GST, and the broadband page lists Everyday Fibre at $99, Fibre Pro at $116, Starter ADSL or VDSL at $88, Lite Fibre at $70 where the customer brings their own modem, 4G Wireless Pro at $65 and 4G Wireless Lite at $57, all including GST. The advertised price is therefore higher than the three cheapest plans, so it understates the offer rather than overstating it, and it still corresponds to nothing on the page it points to.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
Compliance disclosure lists only 'Pulse Energy and Greypower Electricity' but omits Alliance brands Black Box Power and Just Energy.
Why this matters. The compliance disclosure page states 'all brands operated by Pulse Energy Alliance LP (Pulse Energy and Greypower Electricity)' but omits Black Box Power and Just Energy, which are also Alliance brands identified in this sector scan. This incomplete brand disclosure is a regulatory transparency gap.
“Compliance disclosure: "all brands operated by Pulse Energy Alliance LP (Pulse Energy and Greypower Electricity)”
Omits Black Box Power and Just Energy from brand list. Both are Alliance brands with separate customer bases. Regulatory compliance disclosure that omits known brands is a transparency gap.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“Schedule of fees published and transparent”
Comprehensive fee schedule with GST-inclusive amounts. Covers electricity, gas, LPG, broadband, phone. Notes and exclusions clearly marked.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
Website projects a trusted community brand, but adversarial research documents door-knocking complaints and undisclosed Commerce Commission enforcement actions.
Why this matters. The website projects a trusted, community-owned brand identity through sponsorships, Pay it Forward, and community grants. However, adversarial research documents persistent door-knocking complaints about salespeople signing customers up without consent, three Commerce Commission enforcement actions, and six 111 Contact Code infringements -- none of which appear in the company's public communications.
“We have 15 double passes to give away to each of the Crusaders Super Rugby Trans Tasman home games”
The page asks a reader for their full name, phone number, email address and Pulse Energy account number, for a ticket draw whose two fixtures were played on 15 May and 4 June 2021. The form still works and nothing on the page says the draw has closed. The page is listed in the company's own sitemap, so a search engine can send a customer straight to it, although it is not linked from the site's navigation. The same pattern repeats on the Highlanders ticket page, for games played in 2022.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“Crusaders: "Pulse Energy has become a proud partner of the Crusaders from 2021"”
The sponsorships page announces the partnership as new, saying Pulse Energy "has become a proud partner of the Crusaders from 2021". That page's own title is "Pulse Energy Sponsorships Old". The company's current community page lists the Highlanders, Otago Cricket, Nurturing Families and Pay it Forward and does not mention the Crusaders, and the Crusaders' own partner listing does not name Pulse Energy. The dated wording is the one sitting above a sign-up offer.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“Oparara Wilderness Trail Run, dated 24 June 2022”
The sponsorships page presents the Oparara Wilderness Trail Run as taking place on Friday 24 June 2022. Both domains published for that event, opararawildernesstrail.co.nz and opararawildernesstrailrun.co.nz, no longer resolve, and no running of the event later than June 2022 was found on the public record searched on 29 August 2026. The company's current community page still names the run among its sponsorships, without a date.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
Complaints process, Utilities Disputes contact, billy.govt.nz link, and Fern chatbot for 24/7 support provide accessible remedy and support pathways.
Why this matters. Pulse Energy publishes a clear complaints process, displays the Utilities Disputes contact number, links to billy.govt.nz for independent comparison, and provides Fern chatbot for 24/7 support. The medically dependent customer process includes a downloadable form and authorised account mechanism. Remedy and support pathways are accessible.
“Medically dependent customer support (form, authorised accounts, protection from disconnection)”
Compliant with EA Consumer Care Obligations. Form available for download. Authorised account mechanism described.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“Support Hub with budgeting tools, MoneyTalks, WINZ, Winter Energy Payment links”
Consumer education hub linking to independent support services. Accurate descriptions of external services.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“Fern chatbot: "24/7 Support" and "No wait times"”
Chatbot is functional 24/7 (technology-enabled). Limitation appropriately noted: "Fern is still learning." Human support available Monday-Friday 8am-5pm.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
Executive team photos are individual and named rather than stock portraiture, and the partnership imagery matches sponsorships the site documents. The customer feedback widget carries NPS-style responses collected by a third party platform, which the page says. No stock imagery misuse or cultural sensitivity issues were identified.
Why this matters. Executive team photos are individual and named, and the partnership imagery is consistent with sponsorships the site documents. The customer feedback widget carries NPS-style responses collected by a third party platform. No stock imagery misuse or cultural sensitivity issues were identified in the visual communications assessed.
“Nurturing Families: "This partnership allows Pulse Energy staff to volunteer"”
Contextual. It describes a partnership and the volunteering it allows, with no claim about scale or outcome attached.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“We embrace and encourage cultural diversity”
Aspirational employment value. Executive team page shows diverse backgrounds (NZ, South Africa, Russia). Consistent with observable practice.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“Asthma & Respiratory Foundation NZ Gold Sponsor”
Verifiable sponsorship. Level of sponsorship specified ("Gold Sponsor").
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
Promotional offers are well-qualified with terms noted. The $180 credit, two months free broadband, and Half Price Weekends all include specific conditions.
Why this matters. Promotional offers are well-qualified with terms noted. The $180 first-bill credit, two months free broadband, Power Draw loyalty programme, and Half Price Weekends plan all include specific parameters and conditions. SmoothPay is accurately described with its review process.
“$180 off your first power bill”
Clear promotional offer. Properly qualified: "*Terms apply. Valid for new customers only." Specific dollar amount.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“$100 credit" (Power Compare customers)”
Clear offer with "*Terms and conditions apply." Targeted at specific channel (Power Compare arrivals).
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“Half price weekends, Power Shift plan: "all power used between midnight Friday and midnight Sunday is half price"”
Specific, measurable pricing claim. Time window defined. Plan name specified (Power Shift).
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“Power Draw: "WIN up to $1,000 in credit on your power bill every month" / "share of $15,000 every month”
Promotional loyalty programme. "*Terms apply" noted. "Up to" qualifier used. Customer tenure increases entries.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“two months free broadband" when adding broadband to electricity”
Well-disclosed: average monthly cost calculated over 12 months shown for each plan. Terms noted. Broadband as add-on to electricity clearly stated. Modem/termination fee terms disclosed.
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
“SmoothPay: "spreads your electricity payments evenly throughout the year"”
Accurately describes product. Payment review process explained (3-month review, 10-day notice of changes).
Captured 27 August 2026 · source page ↗
No environmental comparisons identified in Pulse Energy's public-facing communications. The company does not make comparative environmental claims against competitors or industry benchmarks.
Why this matters. No environmental comparisons were identified, so this area is not assessed. The absence of comparative environmental claims is recorded as a neutral observation.
The renewable commitment sits on the Why Pulse page, which is a main navigation item on every page, so it is inside the customer journey rather than outside it. The carbonzero page is not in the header navigation, and it is reached from the Toitu certification mark carried in the footer of every page, so both environmental surfaces are reachable from anywhere on the site.
Why this matters. Where environmental messaging sits in the journey decides how many customers meet it. The renewable line is on a main navigation page; the certification is one step further out.
One company, with every graded claim, its own published wording and the dated capture each grade rests on.
You are here
The full analysis behind these grades: what the sector claims, how much of it holds up, and the seven findings that run across it.
Read it, free and without registration →
HowLegit, Pulse Energy — messaging integrity assessment. Energy sector register, assessed 16 July 2026. Overall C (47.6%). https://howlegit.com/register/Energy/pulse-energy A grade rules on whether a public claim is substantiated, not on its truth or on the merit of the business. Not legal or investment advice. Produced by HowLegit, which also sells audits commercially. The data on this page is public.
This entry is part of a complete sector scan. Companies not listed on the Energy register were not assessed — which is not the same as being cleared.