HowLegitThe public register
Energy
Register entry

Black Box Power

C47.8%E C-S B-C C-

Assessed 16 July 2026 under NZ · Medium confidence

Evidence last captured 24 August 2026 · oldest 16 July 2026 · next re-check due 16 July 2027

We contacted this company 2 times between 6 August 2026 and 19 August 2026, by email and phone. No reply received.

A grade rules on whether a public claim is substantiated. It is not a finding about environmental performance, truthfulness, or the merit of the business. HowLegit is not a licensed adviser and nothing here is legal or investment advice.

Where this sits

All 21 energy companies, assessed against the same checklist in the same window.

Black Box Power ranks 20 of 21 in this sector by overall score, between 47.6% and 96.0%.

Findings

"You can leave free of charge at any time" appears on three pages, with equivalent wording on the About page. The entity's own promotional terms, clause 1.11, add the $150 sign-up credit back to the final bill of any customer leaving within 12 months. An absolute departure claim is contradicted by the entity's own published terms. The home page also carries "No Tricks. No Catch.", which the same clause contradicts.

Why this matters. "You can leave free of charge at any time" is an absolute promise, and the entity's own promotional terms take $150 back from anyone who leaves inside 12 months. On the home page the nearby claim carries a footnote marker that leads to no footnote, so the qualification is signalled and never given. This is the finding with the highest regulatory exposure in the assessment.

What closing this looks like

  • Remove "free of charge at any time" from all four surfaces that carry it. Replace with: "No long-term contracts. Standard electricity supply has no exit fee. Sign-up credits are subject to a 12-month stay period." The wording appears verbatim on the home page, Get a Better Power Deal and Why Join, and in equivalent form on the About page. On the home page hero, either publish the footnote text behind the superscript marker against "no long-term contracts", or remove the marker.No external cost · Short
  • Replace "No Tricks. No Catch." on the home page with a line the terms support, such as "No prompt payment discounts. The discounted price applies to every bill." The $150 sign-up credit is added back to the final bill of a customer who leaves within 12 months, and the Silver Membership carries conditions that are not stated where it is offered, so an absolute "no catch" is contradicted by the entity's own published terms.No external cost · Short
FAILC-BBP-01absolute

"We do not lock our customers into long term contracts. You can leave free of charge at any time."

An absolute promise: "at any time", with no qualification attached to it. The entity's own promotional terms, clause 1.11, state: "If you terminate or switch away from Black Box Power within 12 months of becoming a customer, then the $150 credit will be added to your final bill." The switch page fine print says the same. The wording appears on three pages verbatim (home, Get a Better Power Deal, Why Join) and in equivalent form on the About page: "We also offer no long term contracts. If you wish to leave for any reason, you are free to do so." On the home page the adjacent hero line carries a superscript footnote marker against "no long-term contracts", but no footnote text appears anywhere on that page and the $150 figure does not appear on it at all, so the marked qualification is never delivered. An absolute claim contradicted by the entity's own published terms is graded FAIL. Exposure under Fair Trading Act s.9 and s.13(g). A charge is levied on exit: under the entity's own terms a customer who leaves inside the qualifying period pays money a customer who stays does not.

source page ↗

Capture supporting C-BBP-01
FLAGC-BBP-02absolute

"No Tricks. No Catch. Just Low Cost Electricity + more Black Boxes"

"No Tricks. No Catch." sets an absolute bar. The $150 credit clawback on departure within 12 months is a catch on any ordinary reading, and the Silver Membership carries conditions that are not stated where it is offered. Absolute quantifiers attract the highest scrutiny. Graded FLAG rather than FAIL because the phrase is positioning shorthand rather than a term of supply, but it is materially undermined by the clawback.

Captured 24 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting C-BBP-02
PASSC-BBP-10absolute

"Easy to Switch: Our friendly team will take care of the switching process"

Switching process in NZ is standardised through EA registry. BBP provides 0800 number and online form. "No need to turn off electricity" is accurate.

Captured 24 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting C-BBP-10

Toitu net carbonzero certification is third-party verified (ISO 14064-1), but covers operational emissions only. Entity sells natural gas and LPG -- consumer could conflate operational carbon neutrality with renewable energy supply.

Why this matters. Customers reading a carbon neutral badge on every page are likely to take it as a statement about the energy they buy. The certification covers how Black Box Power runs its own business, and the gas and LPG sold to customers sit outside it. Saying which of the two is certified would remove the ambiguity without weakening the claim.

What closing this looks like

  • Add a scope line to the carbonzero page and beside the footer badge stating that the certification covers Black Box Power's own operations and not the gas and LPG it sells. The certification is verified under ISO 14064-1 and the page lists vehicles, business travel, fuel and electricity, paper and waste. Emissions from the fuel sold to customers sit outside that boundary, and a badge in the footer of every page invites the reading that the energy supplied is carbon neutral.No external cost · Short
FLAGE-BBP-01absolute

"Black Box Power is now a Toitū net carbonzero certified business", with the Toitū badge in the site footer

The certification is real and third-party verified under ISO 14064-1. Its scope is operational: the page lists vehicles, business travel, fuel and electricity, paper and waste. Black Box Power also sells natural gas and LPG, and the emissions from the fuel it sells are not part of the certified footprint. The page does not draw the distinction between the entity's own operations being carbon neutral and the energy the customer buys being carbon neutral, which is the reading a consumer is most likely to take from a badge in the footer of every page.

source page ↗

Capture supporting E-BBP-01

Toitu certification verified and offset model disclosed. "Committed to reducing our impact" is aspirational with no reduction targets, milestones, or progress data.

Why this matters. Offsetting is disclosed plainly, which is more than many retailers do. The reduction half of the claim has nothing behind it yet, because the plans to reduce emissions are described as still to be developed. A baseline year and a first target would turn this into a claim that can be checked.

What closing this looks like

  • Publish the certified baseline year, the measured footprint and a first dated reduction target on the carbonzero page. The page states that plans to manage and reduce emissions are still to be developed, so the reducing element of "measuring, reducing, and offsetting" has nothing published behind it. The baseline and footprint already exist in the ISO 14064-1 inventory prepared for certification.No external cost · Short
FLAGE-BBP-02absolute

"measuring, reducing, and offsetting our carbon footprint" / "unavoidable emissions are offset through the purchase of carbon credits"

The offset-dependent model is disclosed plainly, which is a point in the entity's favour. The "reducing" element is not evidenced: the same page states "Now that we've measured our footprint, we will develop plans to continually manage and reduce our emissions", which places the reduction work in the future. No targets, baseline year, milestones or progress data are published. The unevidenced element determines the grade.

Captured 24 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting E-BBP-02

The certification page is not linked from any menu or page on the site, and the footer badge is an unlinked image. Environmental messaging is not integrated into the customer journey.

Why this matters. The certification page is not reachable from any menu or link on the site, and the footer badge is a picture rather than a link, so a customer cannot get from the badge to the explanation. The environmental story exists but the customer journey does not reach it. Linking the badge would close the gap at no cost.

What closing this looks like

  • Link the Toitū badge in the site footer to the carbonzero page and add that page to a navigation menu. The certification page is in the published sitemap and is linked from no page on the site, and the footer badge is an unlinked image, so a customer who sees the badge cannot reach the explanation behind it.No external cost · Short
FLAGE-BBP-04contextual

Toitū net carbonzero certification page reachable from no page on the site, with the certification badge published in the footer as an unlinked image

The certification is real and the page explaining it is published, and a customer cannot get to it. Across the 70 pages enumerated on 25 August 2026 from the published sitemap combined with the site's own navigation, the only links to the certification page are two self-references on that page. The badge in the site footer is a plain image with no enclosing link, carried on 67 of those 70 pages, and the footer navigation beside it lists twenty destinations of which none is the certification page. The environmental claim is therefore made on every page and supported on a page the customer journey does not reach. Graded FLAG because the certification itself is sound and the defect is in how it is presented.

Captured 24 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting E-BBP-04

Future commitment to "reduce our impact" lacks roadmap, milestones, or external commitments (no SBTi, no RE100). Parent's 94.7 MW renewable generation not referenced on retail surfaces.

Why this matters. A commitment to keep reducing emissions is the right way to describe an intention rather than an achievement. Without a target, a date or a baseline, there is no way for a customer or a regulator to tell later whether it was met. The parent group's renewable generation is not mentioned on any retail page.

What closing this looks like

  • Publish a dated reduction pathway on the carbonzero page with interim milestones, and state the parent group's renewable generation on the retail pages where it is relevant. The present commitment to look for new ways to reduce impact is correctly framed as an intention, and with no baseline, target date or referenced strategy there is no way for a customer or a regulator to tell later whether it was met. The parent group operates 94.7 MW of renewable generation, which is referenced on no retail surface.No external cost · Short
FLAGE-BBP-03aspirational

committed to not only maintaining this standard but also looking for new ways to reduce our impact on the environment and our carbon footprint in the future

Correctly framed as an aspiration rather than an achievement, which is the right way to say it. An aspiration still needs a pathway: interim targets, a baseline, a timeline or a referenced strategy. None is published, and there is no external commitment such as a science-based target or renewable electricity pledge. The parent group operates 94.7 MW of renewable generation, which is not referenced on any retail surface.

Captured 24 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting E-BBP-03

"100% community owned" is an absolute claim strained by Totara Energy LP's acquisition of roughly 30 percent of Pioneer Energy Group in June 2025, which includes commercial investment funds. That change is not disclosed on any page. The scale figures on the About page are each attributed to the company they belong to by the logo above them.

Why this matters. Ownership is the centre of this brand's story, and "100% community owned" is an absolute. A commercial investment stake of roughly 30 percent was acquired in June 2025 and appears nowhere on the site. Customers who chose the brand for its ownership have not been told the structure changed.

What closing this looks like

  • Update "100% community owned" on the About page and in the ownership panel to reflect the current structure. Totara Energy LP acquired roughly 30 percent of Pioneer Energy Group in June 2025 and includes commercial investment funds alongside Māori trusts. Consider "New Zealand community and impact-owned", with a link to a page setting out the ownership chain.No external cost · Short
FLAGS-BBP-01absolute

Pulse Energy is a 100% community owned energy retailer

An absolute ownership claim, which attracts the highest scrutiny. The ownership chain runs Central Lakes Trust and Totara Energy LP into Pioneer Energy Group, and on into the Pulse Energy Alliance. Totara Energy LP, which acquired roughly 30 percent in June 2025, includes commercial investment funds alongside Maori trusts. "100% community owned" is strained by that structure. Graded FLAG rather than FAIL because the contradicting evidence sits in external sources rather than in the entity's own published material. The Totara acquisition is not mentioned on any of the entity's pages. Coverage for this absence: 70 pages, the published sitemap combined with the site's own navigation, enumerated 25 August 2026.

Captured 24 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting S-BBP-01
PASSS-BBP-02absolute

100% kiwi owned

This claim sits in the Black Box NZ column of the About page's three-column panel, under the Black Box NZ logo, so it describes the sampling company rather than the energy retailer. Every entity in the ownership chain is New Zealand registered: Central Lakes Trust, Buller Energy, Totara Energy LP and Pioneer Energy Group. The claim is accurate as made.

Captured 24 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting S-BBP-02
FLAGS-BBP-03absolute

"100% community owned" (second instance, in the ownership panel)

The same absolute ownership claim as the About page prose, repeated in the panel under the Pulse Energy logo. Assessed the same way and for the same reason: the Totara Energy LP stake acquired in June 2025 includes commercial investment funds, and that change is not disclosed anywhere on the entity's pages. Coverage for this absence: 70 pages, the published sitemap combined with the site's own navigation, enumerated 25 August 2026.

source page ↗

Capture supporting S-BBP-03
PASSS-BBP-05absolute

over 80,000 customers throughout NZ

This figure sits in the middle column of the About page's three-column panel, directly beneath the Pulse Energy logo and immediately above "Pulse Energy is owned by Pioneer Energy in Alexandra". The page therefore attributes the number to Pulse Energy rather than to Black Box Power, and the Pulse Energy Alliance recorded 84,174 connections at its last published audit. Read against the column it appears in, the figure is accurate and correctly attributed. Black Box Power's own customer count is not published, which is recorded as an observation rather than graded here.

Captured 24 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting S-BBP-05
PASSS-BBP-06absolute

185,000 members NZ wide

This figure sits in the left column of the About page's three-column panel, beneath the Black Box NZ logo, and so refers to members of the sampling business rather than electricity customers. Members, electricity customers and boxes shipped are three different counts of three different things, and the page separates them by column. Accurate as presented.

Captured 24 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting S-BBP-06

The Consumer Care Policy is published and states its compliance with the Consumer Care Obligations. The site also sets out what the 111 Contact Code requires of a landline provider. Six Commerce Commission infringement notices, issued to Pulse Energy Alliance LP trading as Blackbox Power for failing to comply with that Code, are not disclosed on any page (Commerce Commission case register PRJ0047721, closed 8 August 2025).

Why this matters. The site sets out in detail what the 111 Contact Code requires of a landline provider and tells vulnerable customers they can complain to the regulator about compliance. The Commission issued six infringement notices to Pulse Energy Alliance LP, trading as Blackbox Power, for likely breaching section 156A(1)(p) of the Telecommunications Act 2001 by failing to comply with that same Code without a reasonable excuse. The notices were paid and the case closed on 8 August 2025 (case register PRJ0047721). No page mentions them. Customers are given the obligations without the record.

What closing this looks like

  • Publish a Regulatory Information section disclosing the Commerce Commission enforcement history, citing the Commission's case register reference and date for each matter. The Commission issued six infringement notices for failing to comply with the 111 Contact Code under section 156A(1)(p) of the Telecommunications Act 2001, and the notices name the Black Box Power trading name. The site already sets out what the Code requires of a landline provider and tells vulnerable consumers they may raise Code compliance with the Commission, so the record belongs alongside the obligations.No external cost · Short
PASSS-BBP-08absolute

Consumer Care Policy published, stating compliance with the Consumer Care Obligations

The policy is published and states its compliance with the Consumer Care Obligations, with a link to the Electricity Authority. It describes SmoothPay, the range of payment options, and referral to support agencies including MoneyTalks and Work and Income. The commitment is substantiated by the mechanisms the policy describes. The claim is also relevant to remedy visibility and is assessed there.

source page ↗

Capture supporting S-BBP-08
PASSS-BBP-09aspirational

We want you to have a warm and healthy home

Aspirational within Consumer Care Policy context. Supported by energy efficiency links and hardship support mechanisms.

Captured 24 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting S-BBP-09
FLAGS-BBP-15contextual

111 Contact Code obligations set out for consumers without disclosing the entity's own compliance record under that Code

The entity publishes a full account of what the 111 Contact Code requires of a landline provider, tells vulnerable consumers what they are entitled to, and directs them to the Commerce Commission if they wish to raise compliance with the Code. The Commission issued six infringement notices to Pulse Energy Alliance LP for likely breaching section 156A(1)(p) of the Telecommunications Act 2001 by failing to comply with that same Code without a reasonable excuse. The register entry names the operator as trading as Pulse Energy, Grey Power Electricity and Blackbox Power. The notices were paid and the case closed on 8 August 2025 (Commerce Commission case register PRJ0047721, closed 8 August 2025). Nothing on any page of the site refers to them. A consumer reading this page is given the entity's obligations and not its record against them. Coverage for this absence: 70 pages, the published sitemap combined with the site's own navigation, enumerated 25 August 2026. The word "infringement" appears on none of them.

source page ↗

Capture supporting S-BBP-15

The customer feedback widget on the broadband and certification pages displays uniformly positive comments with no published selection methodology. No independent customer review data exists on any major platform for comparison.

Why this matters. The customer comments shown on the site are uniformly positive, and no methodology explains how they were selected from those received. There is no independent review presence anywhere for a customer to check the picture against. A response rate and a score would make the widget evidence rather than decoration.

What closing this looks like

  • Publish the response rate and the selection method for the customer feedback widget, or add a link to an independent review platform. The widget shows uniformly positive comments on the broadband and certification pages with no statement of how displayed responses are selected from those received, and there is no independent review presence against which the picture can be checked. A response count, an average score and a one-line method note would make the widget evidence.No external cost · Short
FLAGS-BBP-13contextual

Customer feedback widget displaying selected reviews

The feedback widget appears on the broadband pages and the certification page, and the comments it displays are uniformly positive. No methodology is published stating how the displayed responses are selected from those received, and no independent customer review data exists on any major review platform against which the picture could be checked. The grade rests on the absence of an independent comparator rather than on any displayed comment being wrong. Coverage for this absence: 70 pages, the published sitemap combined with the site's own navigation, enumerated 25 August 2026.

Captured 24 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting S-BBP-13

Black Box Silver Membership is the primary social differentiator and is offered as complimentary, with Black Boxes described as guaranteed every year a customer stays. The membership terms require a profile match, ongoing profile upkeep and continued subscription to marketing email, and forfeit the membership if the customer unsubscribes. None of those conditions appears where the offer is made.

Why this matters. The membership is the reason many customers join, and it is offered as complimentary with boxes guaranteed every year they stay. The actual terms are narrower: the box depends on a profile match, the profile must be kept current, and leaving the marketing email list ends the membership. Those conditions belong where the offer is made.

What closing this looks like

  • Disclose the Silver Membership conditions and its data-sharing at electricity sign-up. Add: "Your Silver Membership involves sharing personal profile data with Black Box NZ. A box is guaranteed where your profile matches a campaign, the profile must be kept current, and unsubscribing from marketing email ends the membership." The membership is offered on three pages as complimentary with boxes guaranteed every year the customer stays, and none of those conditions appears where the offer is made.No external cost · Short
PASSS-BBP-07absolute

120,000 Black Boxes sent out each year

A Black Box NZ operational figure, in the same column as the membership number and under the same logo. It counts boxes shipped, not customers or members, and is not presented as a Black Box Power social impact figure. Accurate as presented.

Captured 24 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting S-BBP-07
FLAGS-BBP-16absolute

"complimentary Black Box Silver Membership" with "guaranteed Black Boxes every year"

The membership is the entity's main social differentiator and is offered on three pages as complimentary, with boxes described as guaranteed every year the customer stays. The membership terms are narrower than the offer: a box is guaranteed only where the member's profile matches a campaign, the member must keep that profile updated, and a member who unsubscribes from marketing email forfeits the membership. None of those conditions appears where the benefit is claimed. The membership also requires handing demographic and household information to a marketing business, which is not stated at electricity sign-up. "Guaranteed" is an absolute and the conditions that qualify it are held elsewhere.

source page ↗

Capture supporting S-BBP-16

"Low Cost Electricity" and "competitive rates" claimed without benchmark data or comparator. BBP is excluded from Powerswitch; rates not visible on website.

Why this matters. "Low cost" and "competitive" are comparative claims, and no rates are published anywhere on the site to support them. Because membership is required, the brand is absent from the main independent comparison service, so a customer cannot check the claim there either. Publishing indicative rates would resolve both points at once.

What closing this looks like

  • Publish indicative electricity rate ranges on the website, by region or usage tier, with the date they were set, and link them to billy.govt.nz. No rates appear anywhere on the site, so a customer cannot check "low cost" or "competitive" against anything, and the membership requirement keeps the brand out of the main independent comparison service.No external cost · Short
FLAGC-BBP-03absolute

"Low Cost Electricity, Gas and Broadband Plans"

Comparative claim ("Low Cost") without benchmark, comparator data, or independent substantiation. BBP excluded from Powerswitch. billy.govt.nz listing provides some comparison but does not itself substantiate "low cost."

Captured 24 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting C-BBP-03
FLAGC-BBP-04absolute

"competitive Electricity Rates, that are tailored to you"

"Competitive" implies comparison without named comparator. "Tailored" is aspirational but rates are not visible on website.

Captured 24 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting C-BBP-04
FLAGC-BBP-06absolute

"low price upfront" / "we offer you a low price upfront"

Describes pricing philosophy (no prompt payment discount model). The "upfront" component is accurate (no PPD). But "low price" is unsubstantiated comparative.

Captured 24 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting C-BBP-06
PASSC-BBP-09absolute

"Transparent Billing: We provide transparent billing on our electricity bills by itemising the charges"

Self-referential but verifiable. Schedule of Fees published. Bills are itemised.

Captured 24 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting C-BBP-09

"Cheaper power" and "competitive rates" imply comparison without named comparator or pricing evidence. billy.govt.nz link offered as partial offset.

Why this matters. Telling customers the power is cheaper invites the question: cheaper than what. No comparator is named and no pricing evidence is offered. The link to the government comparison service is a genuine point in the entity's favour and goes part of the way.

What closing this looks like

  • Remove or substantiate "cheaper power" and "competitive rates" wherever they appear. Neither names a comparator. Either drop the comparative wording, or publish the comparison the claim rests on, naming the plans compared and the date. The existing billy.govt.nz link is a point in the entity's favour and does not itself substantiate a cheaper claim.No external cost · Short
FLAGC-BBP-05absolute

"cheaper power" / "Black Box Power gives our Black Box members cheaper power"

Comparative claim without benchmark. "Cheaper" than what? No comparison data provided.

Captured 24 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting C-BBP-05
PASSC-BBP-14contextual

billy.govt.nz link for independent comparison

Positive disclosure: directs consumers to free, government-operated independent comparison tool.

Captured 24 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting C-BBP-14

Fee schedule published with GST-inclusive amounts. However, $150 credit clawback is absent from the Schedule of Fees. Electricity rates not visible on website -- consumers must request a callback.

Why this matters. The published fee schedule is thorough, which makes the one omission conspicuous: the $150 clawback on leaving inside 12 months is not on it, although the other exit costs are. Electricity rates are not published at all, so a customer must ask for a callback before they can compare. Both make the cost of the decision harder to work out in advance.

What closing this looks like

  • Add the $150 sign-up credit clawback to the published Schedule of Fees. The schedule already lists the $150 Fixed Wireless early termination fee and the $170 modem fee, so departure costs are otherwise itemised there, and a consumer checking the schedule before leaving would not find this one. State it as promotional terms clause 1.11 states it: the credit is added to the final bill of a customer who leaves within 12 months.No external cost · Short
FLAGC-BBP-11absolute

"All Energy Discount" (gas and LPG bundle)

Discount referenced as a bundle benefit but quantum not disclosed. Consumer cannot determine the value of the discount without contacting BBP.

Captured 24 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting C-BBP-11
PASSC-BBP-13contextual

Schedule of Fees published

Comprehensive fee schedule with GST-inclusive amounts. Covers electricity, gas, LPG, broadband, phone. 30+ line items.

Captured 24 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting C-BBP-13
FLAGC-BBP-16contextual

$150 credit clawback not in Schedule of Fees

The $150 sign-up credit is clawed back on departure within 12 months under promotional terms clause 1.11, but it is not listed on the published Schedule of Fees. The schedule lists the $150 Fixed Wireless early termination fee and the $170 modem fee, so departure costs are otherwise itemised there. A consumer checking the fee schedule before leaving would not find this charge. The wording is also relevant to disclosure prominence and is assessed there as well.

source page ↗

Capture supporting C-BBP-16
PASSC-BBP-17absolute

"$150 Fixed Wireless Early Termination Fee"

Disclosed on both the fees page and the broadband page with clear terms (within 12 months of signing up).

Captured 24 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting C-BBP-17
PASSC-BBP-18absolute

"$170 Modem Fee" if leaving within 24 months

Disclosed in broadband page footnote 2: "If you leave in the first 24 months you will be required to pay a $170 Modem Fee."

Captured 24 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting C-BBP-18

The Pulse Energy partnership is disclosed on the About page and in the privacy policy. The Notice of Exemption published under this brand is issued to Pulse Energy, and the 111 Contact Code application is returned to a Pulse Energy email and postal address. Regulatory enforcement history is not disclosed on any page (Commerce Commission case register PRJ0047721, closed 8 August 2025).

Why this matters. The partnership with Pulse Energy is disclosed, which is the right starting point. The regulatory exemption document published under this brand is issued to Pulse Energy, and the 111 Contact Code form goes to a Pulse Energy address, so a customer acting on the most sensitive page on the site is handed a different company's name. The enforcement history of the business behind the brand is not disclosed anywhere (Commerce Commission case register PRJ0047721, closed 8 August 2025).

What closing this looks like

  • Change the 111 Contact Code page so applications are returned to a Black Box Power address. The page directs consumers to send the completed form to data.admin@pulseenergy.co.nz and to a Pulse Energy postal address, so a consumer handing over health and vulnerability information is asked to send it to a company name they did not sign up with, on the page where the disclosure matters most. Where the Pulse Energy entity must remain the recipient, state on the page why that is the correct address.No external cost · Short
PASSC-BBP-15contextual

Pulse Energy partnership disclosed

"Black Box have partnered with Pulse Energy" (About). "Pulse Energy Alliance LP" named in Privacy Policy. "Pulse Energy Alliance LP brands" referenced in promotional T&Cs clause 1.8. Entity relationship is disclosed.

source page ↗

Capture supporting C-BBP-15
FLAGC-BBP-19contextual

Notice of Exemption published on the Black Box Power site is issued to Pulse Energy

The regulatory exemption document published under the Black Box Power brand is issued to Pulse Energy, not to Black Box Power. A consumer checking which entity holds the low fixed charge exemption that applies to their supply is shown a different name from the one they contracted with. The partnership is disclosed elsewhere on the site, so the relationship itself is not hidden, but the regulatory identity a consumer would rely on is inconsistent with the retail brand.

source page ↗

Capture supporting C-BBP-19
FLAGC-BBP-20contextual

111 Contact Code applications on the Black Box Power site are directed to a Pulse Energy address

The 111 Contact Code page is where a consumer who depends on a landline or medical alarm applies for protection during a power cut. The page tells them to send the completed form to a Pulse Energy email address and postal address. The consumer is asked to hand health and vulnerability information to a business name they did not sign up with, at the point where the disclosure matters most.

Captured 24 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting C-BBP-20

Complaints process structured with 2 working day acknowledgement and 20-40 day resolution target. Utilities Disputes escalation and billy.govt.nz link published.

Why this matters. A customer who needs to complain can find out how, how long it should take, and who to go to if the answer does not satisfy them. Utilities Disputes and the government comparison service are both named. This is the part of the assessment the entity is doing well.

What closing this looks like

  • Expand the Vulnerable and Medically Dependent Customers page to state the protections a registered consumer receives. The page describes how to join the Medical Dependency Register and what documentation is required, and not what changes once a consumer is on it: notice before disconnection, how the account is treated in arrears, and what happens during an unplanned outage. A consumer deciding whether to register cannot see what registering gets them.No external cost · Short
PASSS-BBP-10absolute

Medical Dependency Register process published, with a downloadable form

MDC page exists with downloadable form and 0800 contact number. Registration process described. Meets minimum regulatory requirement. Page is thin (no protections or accommodations described) but functional.

source page ↗

Capture supporting S-BBP-10
PASSS-BBP-11absolute

Fern chatbot: "24/7" and "No wait times"

Chatbot is technology-enabled 24/7. Limitation noted: "Fern is still learning." Human support Monday-Friday 8am-5pm. "No wait times" is accurate for automated chatbot responses.

source page ↗

Capture supporting S-BBP-11
PASSS-BBP-14absolute

Complaints process with Utilities Disputes escalation

Structured complaints process: 2 working days acknowledgement, 20-40 working days resolution. Utilities Disputes (0800 22 33 40, udl.co.nz) published. billy.govt.nz link for independent comparison.

Captured 24 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting S-BBP-14

"Good honest Kiwi service" positioning is consistent with NZ-headquartered entity. No stock imagery misuse or cultural appropriation identified.

Why this matters. The New Zealand service positioning matches where the business and its people actually are, and the imagery matches what is actually offered. Nothing here overstates the entity's cultural or community position.

PASSS-BBP-04aspirational

good honest Kiwi service

A general statement of service values rather than a specific, testable commitment. Claims of this kind are assessed on whether they are consistent with what the entity is and does, not on proof of the value itself. The positioning matches a New Zealand based business with a New Zealand service team.

Captured 24 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting S-BBP-04
PASSS-BBP-12aspirational

Kiwi customer service

Aspirational positioning. Consistent with NZ-based customer service team.

Captured 24 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting S-BBP-12

$150 sign-up credit well-qualified with terms. "Two Months Free" broadband qualified with average monthly cost disclosures. Promotional T&Cs are comprehensive.

Why this matters. The sign-up credit and the broadband offer are both qualified where they appear, with the terms available and the costs of leaving stated. This is the standard the other pricing claims on the site are not yet meeting.

PASSC-BBP-07contextual

"$150 off your power bill when you join"

Qualified with "*Sign-up offer terms" and fine print disclosing 12-month clawback. Promotional T&Cs (clause 1.1-1.13) are comprehensive. Terms are available on a dedicated page.

source page ↗

Capture supporting C-BBP-07
PASSC-BBP-08contextual

"Two Months Free" broadband

Qualified with average monthly cost over 12 months for each plan. Modem fee ($170 within 24 months) and wireless ETF ($150 within 12 months) disclosed in footnotes.

source page ↗

Capture supporting C-BBP-08
PASSC-BBP-12aspirational

"Save on your Power Bill"

Aspirational framing. "Looking to save money" is directional, not a specific price promise.

source page ↗

Capture supporting C-BBP-12

No environmental comparative claims identified.

Why this matters. Black Box Power makes no environmental comparisons against other retailers, so there is nothing here that needs a baseline or a named comparator. This is a clean result rather than an absence of evidence.

Toitu badge in footer is small (85px) and proportionate. Not used as primary marketing visual.

Why this matters. The certification badge is used at a size proportionate to what it certifies, sitting in the footer rather than driving the page. Environmental imagery is not used to imply more than the certification supports. This is the restrained end of current practice.

Fixed something on this list? Regrades are free — two a year for every company on the register, whether or not they are a client. We reassess against the same checklist and publish the new dated result. How regrades and right of reply work →

Cite this

The public register
This company's register entry

One company, with every graded claim, its own published wording and the dated capture each grade rests on.

You are here

The sector report
How legit is New Zealand's electricity sector?

The full analysis behind these grades: what the sector claims, how much of it holds up, and the seven findings that run across it.

Read it, free and without registration →

Share this

https://howlegit.com/register/Energy/black-box-power

Hear about the next scan

What we have audited and what we found. Occasional, and you can stop at any time.

HowLegit, Black Box Power — messaging integrity assessment.
Energy sector register, assessed 16 July 2026.
Overall C (47.8%).
https://howlegit.com/register/Energy/black-box-power

A grade rules on whether a public claim is substantiated, not on its
truth or on the merit of the business. Not legal or investment advice.
Produced by HowLegit, which also sells audits commercially. The data on
this page is public.

This entry is part of a complete sector scan. Companies not listed on the Energy register were not assessed — which is not the same as being cleared.