Assessed 16 July 2026 under NZ · Medium confidence
Evidence last captured 31 August 2026 · oldest 15 July 2026 · next re-check due 15 July 2027
We contacted this company 2 times between 6 August 2026 and 19 August 2026, by email and phone. No reply received.
A grade rules on whether a public claim is substantiated. It is not a finding about environmental performance, truthfulness, or the merit of the business. HowLegit is not a licensed adviser and nothing here is legal or investment advice.
All 21 energy companies, assessed against the same checklist in the same window.
Grey Power Electricity ranks 14 of 21 in this sector by overall score, between 47.6% and 96.0%.
The benefits page and the welcome page state that there are no long term contracts and that a customer can freely terminate at any time. Clause 5.5 of the Standard Residential Terms makes any joining credit conditional on staying 12 months or more, and states in its own words that the promotional price is the price for a contract of 12 months or more. Clause 1.5 of the promotion terms adds the credit back to the final bill on leaving inside 12 months, and the joining credit is the standing offer to new customers. The same clause and the same wording appear on two other brands run by the same operating company.
Why this matters. The site tells customers there are no long term contracts, and the terms behind it describe the joining credit as the price for a contract of 12 months or more. A customer who takes the headline at face value and leaves early pays back money they were told they would not pay. This is the finding with the clearest exposure under the Fair Trading Act and the cheapest to fix.
“$150 off your first power bill”
The sign-up page advertises a joining credit off the first power bill for new customers using a promotional code, with an asterisk reading that terms, eligibility and early termination fees apply. The credit is real, the amount is stated and the eligibility rules are published. What the asterisk does not say is that clause 1.5 of the promotion terms adds the credit back to the final bill if the customer leaves inside 12 months. The offer was $150 under code GPE150OFF at the assessment date and is $180 under code GPE180OFF as at 30 August 2026, with the same condition attached to both.
Captured 15 July 2026 · source page ↗
“Hassle-free switching”
The welcome page states that the team will take care of the switching process making sure it is hassle free, and that there will be no interruption to electricity or gas supply while it happens. The claim is about the effort of joining, which the retailer controls through the industry switching process, and the page states what the customer has to supply. Nothing in the captured record contradicts it on the joining side.
Captured 15 July 2026 · source page ↗
“No long-term contracts”
The benefits page and the welcome page both state that there are no long term contracts. Clause 5.5 of the Standard Residential Terms says a joining credit only applies if the customer stays 12 months or more, and adds in its own words that the promotional price is the price for a contract of 12 months or more. Clause 1.5 of the promotion terms then adds the joining credit back to the final bill if the customer leaves inside 12 months, and the joining credit is the standing offer to new customers. The entity's terms describe a 12 month contract on a page headed no long term contracts. A charge is levied on exit: under the entity's own terms a customer who leaves inside the qualifying period pays money a customer who stays does not.
Captured 15 July 2026 · source page ↗
“Freely terminate at any time”
The benefits page and the rates page both tell customers they can freely terminate at any time. Termination is possible, and a customer who took the joining credit and leaves within 12 months has it added to their final bill under clause 1.5 of the promotion terms, because clause 5.5 of the Standard Residential Terms makes the credit conditional on staying 12 months or more. Freedom to leave without cost is what the wording conveys and it is not what the terms provide. A charge is levied on exit: under the entity's own terms a customer who leaves inside the qualifying period pays money a customer who stays does not.
Captured 15 July 2026 · source page ↗
Environmental wording appears twice on the site and neither instance is where a customer chooses a plan. The Power Lunch page states that shifting usage away from peak times contributes to a more sustainable energy future for New Zealand, with no figure behind it. A blog post explains energy storage in general terms and asserts nothing about this brand's own supply. Neither statement is specific enough to be tested against anything the brand publishes.
Why this matters. The only environmental wording on the site sits in a blog post about energy storage and in a line on the Power Lunch plan page about a more sustainable energy future. Neither appears where a customer chooses a plan, and neither is supported by figures. If the brand wants credit for an environmental position, it needs to state one where customers actually read it.
“Harnessing the Future: The Evolution of Energy Storage" (blog)”
The blog post describes energy storage technologies and their role in managing intermittent renewable generation. It is written as general explanation and asserts nothing about Grey Power Electricity's own supply, emissions or environmental performance. There is no claim in it for the company to substantiate.
Captured 15 July 2026 · source page ↗
“Shifting power usage away from peak times contributes to a more sustainable energy future for New Zealand”
The Power Lunch page tells customers that shifting power usage away from peak times not only could help them save money but also contributes to a more sustainable energy future for New Zealand. No figure, baseline or method sits behind the environmental half of that sentence, and the certification page that would give it context is not linked from any page on the site. It sits inside a collapsed questions panel rather than on the plan page itself, so a customer chooses the plan before meeting the claim.
Captured 31 August 2026 · source page ↗
The Toitu net carbonzero organisation badge appears in the footer of 44 of the 52 pages captured, including the gas and LPG pages. The certification is independently issued and covers operational emissions rather than the combustion emissions of the fuel sold. That scope is explained on a certification page which is not linked from any page carrying the badge. There is no environmental reporting, carbon data or target published anywhere on the site.
Why this matters. The Toitu net carbonzero badge sits in the footer of 44 of the 52 pages captured, including the gas and LPG pages, where a customer could read it as a statement about the fuel being sold. The certification is real and its scope is explained in detail, but the explanation lives on a page nothing else on the site links to. Linking the badge to that explanation would close most of this gap at very little cost.
“Toitu Net Carbon Zero Organisation certification badge (footer, all pages)”
The Toitu net carbonzero organisation badge appears in the footer of 44 of the 52 pages captured, including the gas and LPG pages. The certification is independently issued and it covers the company's own operational emissions rather than the fuel it sells. Nothing beside the badge states which of the two it covers, and the page that explains the scope is not linked from any page carrying it. A customer who reads the badge on a gas page has no route from it to what it means.
Captured 15 July 2026 · source page ↗
“Toitu badge on gas services page”
The same certification badge appears on the gas services page, where the product being sold is natural gas and LPG. Operational carbonzero certification does not cover the combustion emissions of fuel sold to customers, and the page does not say so. An unqualified carbon certification on a fossil fuel product page is the point at which the scope gap becomes a statement about the product.
Captured 15 July 2026 · source page ↗
The standard residential terms, the privacy policy and the complaints process are all published and detailed. Six infringement notices were issued to Pulse Energy Alliance LP over the code that protects people who depend on a home phone during a power cut, and none of that appears anywhere on this site. Searching the 150 pages reachable from the site's own navigation on 24 August 2026 returned no occurrence of the word infringement. No employee, governance or diversity information is published.
Why this matters. Six infringement notices were issued to the operating company over the code that protects people who rely on a home phone during a power cut, and none of that appears anywhere on this site. The customers most affected by that code are precisely the older New Zealanders this brand serves. Saying nothing about it to this audience is the single largest disclosure gap in the assessment.
“111 Contact Code obligations set out for consumers, with no disclosure of the operating company's own record under that Code”
The emergency contact code page explains what the 111 Contact Code requires, tells vulnerable consumers what they are entitled to, and sends them to the Commerce Commission's website for a full copy. It is a thorough piece of consumer information and it is the page a reader would trust on this subject. The Commerce Commission issued six infringement notices to Pulse Energy Alliance LP, the company that operates this brand, under that same Code, and no page on this site mentions them. Searching the 150 pages reachable from the site's own navigation on 24 August 2026 returned no occurrence of the word infringement.
Captured 31 August 2026 · source page ↗
No social channel operated under the Grey Power Electricity name was identified. The privacy policy states at clauses 2.16 and 2.17 that the company advertises through social media and uses Facebook to reach people who have not visited the website. Those two positions cannot both be complete, and a customer cannot check messaging that appears somewhere they cannot find. Independent rating coverage is thin, with one aggregator showing 4.3 out of 5 from 42 votes and no separate Consumer NZ ranking.
Why this matters. The brand runs no social channels of its own, yet its own privacy policy says it advertises through social media and uses Facebook to reach people who have not visited the site. Those two things cannot both be the whole picture, and a customer cannot check messaging that appears somewhere they cannot find. Either the channels should be listed or the advertising should be described accurately.
“Privacy policy states the company advertises through social media, Google and other third parties online”
The privacy policy states at clause 2.16 that the company advertises through social media, Google and other third parties online, and at clause 2.17 that it uses remarketing and similar audiences through Facebook and Google to reach people who have not entered their details on the website. No social channel operated under the Grey Power Electricity name was identified in the captured record. A customer told that the brand advertises on social media has nowhere to go to see what it says there.
Captured 15 July 2026 · source page ↗
The welcome page states that Grey Power Electricity gives back to your Grey Power federation and never states how much. No dollar amount, share of revenue or named programme appears anywhere on the site. The Grey Power name carries an expectation of advocacy for older New Zealanders, and an unquantified contribution invites the question of whether the name is worth more to the brand than the contribution is to members. A single published figure would settle it.
Why this matters. The site says the brand gives back to the Grey Power Federation but never says how much, and the Pay it Forward programme reports what customers put in without reporting what came out. The Grey Power name carries an expectation of advocacy, and an unquantified contribution invites the question of whether the name is worth more to the brand than the contribution is to members. A single figure would settle it.
“Grey Power Electricity gives back to your Grey Power federation”
The welcome page states that Grey Power Electricity gives back to your Grey Power federation, under a heading reading Support Grey Power Federation. No amount, share of revenue or named programme appears on that page or on any other page captured. The Grey Power name carries an expectation of advocacy for older New Zealanders, and a contribution stated without a size leaves the reader to assume one.
Captured 15 July 2026 · source page ↗
“Join Grey Power Electricity's Pay It Forward Programme this Festive Season”
The blog index carries a headline inviting customers to join the Pay It Forward Programme, introduced with the line that a little bit of generosity can make a big difference. The programme is named and its purpose is described in general terms. No contribution amount, no number of households helped and no programme outcome is published on any of the 52 pages captured, and the article itself sits behind the index card. What the brand says the programme is holds up, and there is nothing published against which to test what it delivers.
Captured 31 August 2026 · source page ↗
The terms are comprehensive and the schedule of fees is detailed and GST inclusive. No electricity rate is published anywhere on the site. The rates page is a form that collects a name, phone number, email address and a copy of a recent bill so that the team can call back with a comparison. A customer cannot compare this brand against any other without first handing over their contact details and waiting.
Why this matters. No prices are published anywhere on the site, and the rates page is a form that collects a customer's details so someone can call them back. A customer cannot compare this brand against any other without first handing over contact details and waiting. For a price-sensitive older audience that is a real barrier, not an inconvenience.
“Grey Power Electricity offers low cost electricity rates to customers throughout New Zealand”
The rates page opens by stating that Grey Power Electricity offers low cost electricity rates to customers throughout New Zealand, and then asks the reader for their name, phone number, email address and a copy of a recent bill so that the Customer Care Team can come back with a price comparison. No rate appears on that page or on any other page captured. The evidence for a low cost claim is held by the company and released only after the customer identifies themselves.
Captured 15 July 2026 · source page ↗
"The Grey Power Plan has a competitive price" (benefits page, rates page) is an unsubstantiated comparative claim. No comparison methodology, no competitor rates cited, no independent benchmark referenced. "Lower electricity prices" (about page -- "founded with the aim to provide Grey Power Members access to lower electricity prices") is a comparative claim without evidence. The claim that pricing has "no prompt payment discount" with savings "built into our prices" implies competitive pricing but is not substantiated against competitors.
Why this matters. The plan is described as having a competitive price and the brand was founded to provide lower electricity prices, with no comparison, no benchmark and no published rates behind either statement. A comparative claim a customer cannot test is the kind that draws regulatory attention. Publishing indicative rates would support the claim and remove the problem in one step.
“The Grey Power Plan has a competitive price”
The benefits page and the rates page both state that the Grey Power Plan has a competitive price, and that there is no prompt payment discount because the saving is already built into the price. Neither page names a competitor, a benchmark or a method of comparison, and no rates are published anywhere on the site. A price described as competitive with nothing to compare it against cannot be tested by the customer it is addressed to.
Captured 15 July 2026 · source page ↗
“Lower electricity prices" (founding aim)”
The about page states that Grey Power Electricity was founded in 2013 with the aim to provide Grey Power Members access to lower electricity prices and better services. Lower than what is not stated, and the page carries no rate, no comparison and no source. Presenting it as a founding aim softens the wording without removing the comparison a reader takes from it.
Captured 15 July 2026 · source page ↗
The schedule of fees publishes a Fixed Wireless Early Termination Fee of $150 and a Modem Fee of $170.00, both GST inclusive. Broadband and gas are sold only as add ons to an electricity account, and cancelling the electricity account cancels the broadband account. Grey Power Federation membership is required before a customer can take these plans and the cost of that membership does not appear on this site. A prerequisite cost that never enters a rate comparison is still a cost the customer pays.
Why this matters. The fee schedule is detailed and GST inclusive, and the broadband early termination fees are disclosed where a customer can find them. What is not disclosed on this site is that Grey Power Federation membership is required before anyone can join, or what that membership costs. A prerequisite cost that never appears in a rate comparison is still a cost the customer pays.
“Broadband early termination and modem fees published in the schedule of fees”
The schedule of fees publishes a Fixed Wireless Early Termination Fee of $150 and a Modem Fee of $170.00, both GST inclusive, in a table reachable from the footer of every page. The promotion terms add the circumstances: clause 2.12 makes the $170 modem fee payable by a customer who requested a modem and leaves within 24 months, and clause 2.6 adds back the value of two months free broadband on leaving between 13 and 24 months. Both charges are disclosed in advance, in two documents rather than one.
Captured 15 July 2026 · source page ↗
“All-Energy Discount $0.30/day”
The gas page states that a customer who holds both electricity and gas receives an All-Energy Discount of $0.30 per day on their gas charges. The rate, the unit and the account it applies to are all specified, alongside the condition that gas is not offered as a standalone product to new customers. Both statements sit inside a collapsed frequently asked questions panel rather than on the gas page itself.
Captured 31 August 2026 · source page ↗
“Two months' free broadband when you add broadband to your electricity”
The broadband pages advertise two months free broadband as an add on to an electricity account. The same block states that broadband is only available to residential electricity customers, that cancelling the power account cancels the broadband account, and that termination fees may apply. The amounts sit in the schedule of fees and in the promotion terms, where clause 2.12 makes the $170 modem fee payable on leaving within 24 months and clause 2.6 adds back the value of the free broadband between 13 and 24 months. Entry benefit and exit pathway are both disclosed on the page the customer decides on.
Captured 15 July 2026 · source page ↗
“The Grey Power Plan is designed especially for Grey Power members”
The rates page states that the Grey Power Plan is designed especially for Grey Power members, and the site's own navigation carries a link to join the Grey Power Federation and a form to submit a membership number. Federation membership is an annual paid membership held with a local association. No membership fee, no fee range and no statement that a fee exists appears anywhere on this site. Searching the 150 pages reachable from the site's own navigation on 24 August 2026 returned no membership fee or annual membership cost, so the plan a customer is quoted is not the cost of getting access to it.
Captured 31 August 2026 · source page ↗
The terms identify Grey Power Electricity as a trading name of Pulse Energy Alliance LP at clause 1.1, and the privacy policy names the same entity as the data controller. The pages a customer reads before signing up describe Pulse Energy as a partner rather than as the operating company. The welcome page states that the business is 100% New Zealand-owned without naming the entity that holds the contract. A customer can complete a sign-up without learning who they are contracting with.
Why this matters. The terms and the privacy policy name Pulse Energy Alliance LP as the operating company, but the pages a customer actually reads describe Pulse Energy as a partner. Someone can sign up believing they are contracting with Grey Power without ever learning who holds the contract. Naming the operator in the footer would resolve it without changing anything else.
“100% New Zealand-owned”
The welcome page states that the company is 100% New Zealand-owned. The operating entity is Pulse Energy Alliance LP, which the page does not name, and its ownership was traced on the Companies Office and NZBN registers on 31 August 2026: the general partner is Pioneer Energy Renewables GP Limited of Alexandra, held by Pioneer Energy Group GP Limited and Buller Electricity Limited, with Central Lakes Trust named on the register as the ultimate holding company and every entity and address in that chain registered in New Zealand. Nothing on the public record contradicts the claim. Nothing on the public record can confirm it either, because a New Zealand limited partnership publishes its general partner and not its limited partners, who hold the economic interest.
Captured 15 July 2026 · source page ↗
“Community owned energy company" (Pulse Energy)”
The about page describes Pulse Energy as a community owned energy company supplying electricity, gas, solar, broadband and landline packages to New Zealand households. Which community owns it is not stated, and the same page describes Pulse Energy as a partner rather than as the company that holds the customer's contract. A reader takes an ownership characterisation from the sentence and is given nothing to check it against.
Captured 15 July 2026 · source page ↗
The site uses blue, white and grey, carries no nature photography and no heavy green styling. The only environmental symbol is an independently issued certification badge rather than a self-designed label. Visual presentation does not promise more environmental substance than the brand can show. This is a real strength and the first thing that would be lost in a green-tinted redesign.
Why this matters. The site uses blue, white and grey, carries no nature imagery and no heavy green styling, so its look does not promise more environmental substance than the brand can show. The one environmental symbol on the page is an independent certification badge rather than a self-designed label. This is a real strength and the first thing that would be lost in a green-tinted redesign.
The medically dependent and vulnerable customers page carries a definition, a registration route, an account authority arrangement and a dedicated number on 0800 473 976. The consumer care policy sets out SmoothPay, payment arrangements and hardship referrals, and the emergency contact code page is comprehensive. The Grey Power Federation partnership and the figure of over 20,000 customers are both stated plainly and hold up. This is the strongest part of the brand's public position.
Why this matters. Support for medically dependent and vulnerable customers is documented properly, with a definition, a registration route and a dedicated phone number, which matters more here than for most retailers because the customer base is older. The consumer care commitments and the 20,000 customer figure are both stated plainly and hold up. This is the strongest part of the brand's public position.
“Grey Power Federation partnership described on the about page”
The about page states that Grey Power Electricity is a partnership between the Grey Power Federation and Pulse Energy, founded in 2013, and that the Federation found its partner in Pulse Energy to reduce the cost of electricity for Members. The welcome page carries the same description. The wording matches the arrangement it describes and does not claim more of the Federation's role than the licensing relationship supports.
Captured 15 July 2026 · source page ↗
“MDC support: definition, registration, authorized account feature”
The medically dependent or vulnerable customers page defines a medically dependent customer as a person dependent on electricity for critical medical support where disconnection may result in loss of life or serious harm. It provides a downloadable form, a dedicated number on 0800 473 976, and an account authority arrangement under which a family member, friend or social agency can be appointed to assist. For a customer base of older New Zealanders this is the disclosure that matters most, and it is specific enough to be held to.
Captured 15 July 2026 · source page ↗
“Consumer care: "work with you to try keep your electricity connected”
The consumer care policy states that the company will work with the customer to try to keep their electricity connected if they are having trouble paying the bill. The same page names the mechanisms behind it, including SmoothPay instalments and payment arrangements, and points to the Electricity Authority consumer care obligations. The commitment is qualified by its own wording and the qualification is stated, so what is promised matches what is offered.
Captured 15 July 2026 · source page ↗
“Over 20,000 customers”
The about page states that Grey Power Electricity now has over 20,000 customers, and the welcome page repeats the figure. It is a floor rather than a precise count, which is the form least likely to overstate. Nothing in the captured record puts the figure in doubt.
Captured 15 July 2026 · source page ↗
The complaints process states 2 working days to acknowledge, 7 working days to respond, 20 working days to resolve and 40 working days as the outside case. External escalation to Utilities Disputes Ltd is named as free and independent, with the scheme's own contact details given. The contact number and weekday hours are published, and the chat assistant is available at any hour. For a customer base more likely to need a documented process than a chat window, this is the right shape.
Why this matters. A customer with a complaint is given clear timeframes, a named external body to escalate to, and a free independent route if the answer is unsatisfactory. For an older customer base that is more likely to need a documented process than a chat window, this is the right shape. It is documented well enough to be held to.
“Complaints: 2-day acknowledge, 7-day response, 20-day resolve”
The feedback or complaints page states that a complaint is acknowledged in writing within 2 working days, responded to within 7 working days, and resolved within 20 working days, with up to 40 working days in some cases and a written explanation if it runs longer. Each figure is stated as a commitment rather than an aim. The same page states that the process is free.
Captured 15 July 2026 · source page ↗
“Utilities Disputes escalation (free, independent)”
The complaints page names Utilities Disputes Ltd as the body a customer may take a deadlocked complaint to, sets out the conditions that make a complaint deadlocked, and states that the service is free and independent. It gives the scheme's postal address rather than only its name. A customer who is not satisfied with the internal process is told where to go next and what it costs.
Captured 15 July 2026 · source page ↗
“Fern AI assistant (24/7 support)”
The Meet Fern page states that Fern is a chatbot, that there are no wait times, and that Fern is available to help 24/7. The same page states that Fern is still learning and may not have all of the answers yet, and gives the route to a person on weekdays from 8am to 5pm. The availability figure is about the chatbot and the page does not present it as round the clock access to staff.
Captured 15 July 2026 · source page ↗
The Power Lunch plan states free power every day from 12pm to 2pm, and Power Shift states half price weekends defined as all power used between midnight Friday and midnight Sunday. The Power Draw publishes its full monthly prize table and its entry mechanism. The caveat that Power Lunch could cost some households more is published, and it sits inside a collapsed questions panel rather than beside the plan. Each promise is bounded, and the bounds are one click further away than the promise.
Why this matters. The plan promises are specific and the Power Lunch page states plainly that the plan could end up costing some households more. That caveat is unusual and it is the sort of disclosure that earns trust rather than spends it. This part of the offer is well made and should be protected in any rewrite.
“Two free hours of power daily from 12-2pm”
The Power Lunch plan page states that the plan gives free power every day from 12pm to 2pm, and the offers and plans pages carry the same two hour window. The window, the days it applies and the mechanism are all specified, and the same page sets out the off peak and night rates that apply the rest of the time. The promise is bounded and the boundaries are published where the customer chooses the plan.
Captured 15 July 2026 · source page ↗
“Half price weekends and off-peak power every day”
The offers and plans pages state that the Power Shift plan gives half price weekends and off peak power every day, and both define the weekend as all power used between midnight Friday and midnight Sunday. The definition removes the ambiguity a half price weekend claim usually carries. What is promised is stated in terms a customer can check against a bill.
Captured 15 July 2026 · source page ↗
“Can typically save around 20%" (Power Lunch)”
The Power Lunch page states that customers who adjust their usage to take advantage of free hours, off peak and night rates can typically save around 20% on their power bills, with a note that actual savings vary. The figure is presented as typical rather than promised and it is tied to a stated condition. It sits inside a collapsed frequently asked questions panel, so a customer meets the plan before they meet the number.
Captured 31 August 2026 · source page ↗
“Could end up costing you more" (Power Lunch honest caveat)”
The Power Lunch page states that a customer who does not shift their usage accordingly could end up paying more on this plan than on the Grey Power Plan. The caveat is published, and it names the plan the comparison is against rather than leaving it general. It sits inside the same collapsed frequently asked questions panel as the saving figure, one click away from the page where the plan is chosen.
Captured 31 August 2026 · source page ↗
“Power Draw: monthly prizes up to $1,000”
The Power Draw page states that customers are automatically entered in a monthly draw to win up to $1,000 in credit on their power bill. The same page publishes the full monthly prize table of one $1,000 credit, three $500, twenty $200, thirty $150 and forty $100, and sets out the entry mechanism and the ways to gain extra entries. The stated maximum matches the published table.
Captured 15 July 2026 · source page ↗
The Grey Power Federation partnership is described consistently across the pages that mention it. The emergency contact code page, the complaints process and the office hours are all set out plainly. Nothing in the way the brand speaks overstates what it does. The gap is reach rather than tone, since the operating company is named only in documents most customers never open.
Why this matters. The tone across the site is consistent, the service hours are stated, and the emergency contact code page is thorough. Nothing in the way the brand speaks overstates what it does. The gap is not tone but reach, since the operating company is named only in documents most customers never open.
Grey Power Electricity publishes no environmental comparison against other retailers and no baseline against which an environmental improvement could be measured. Testing covered the 150 pages reachable from the site's own navigation on 24 August 2026, including the blog archive and the plan pages. No comparative environmental wording was found on any of them.
Why this matters. Grey Power Electricity does not compare its environmental position against other retailers, so there is no baseline a customer could be misled by. This was tested across the 150 pages reachable from the site's own navigation on 24 August 2026. Nothing is needed here unless the brand begins making comparative environmental statements.
No environmental messaging in the customer journey. Toitu badge is in the footer (consistent placement) but is not part of any environmental narrative or customer-facing environmental communication.
Why this matters. The one environmental line in the sign-up journey sits on the Power Lunch plan page and is assessed under message integrity, where it is graded. Consistency across the journey is not in question here, because there is no second environmental statement for it to be inconsistent with. Nothing is needed at this checkpoint unless the brand begins running environmental messaging across more than one step of the journey.
No future environmental claims identified. No net zero targets, no renewable energy goals, no environmental roadmap.
Why this matters. No forward-looking environmental statement appears on any of the 52 pages captured at the assessment date. A later enumeration on 24 August 2026 reached a certification page carrying general commitments to reduce emissions, which is not linked from any page in the captured set. There is nothing to assess at this checkpoint against the site a customer actually reaches.
No cultural claims or imagery requiring assessment. Brand identity is straightforwardly "Grey Power" (older New Zealanders advocacy). No iwi/Maori claims.
Why this matters. The brand makes no cultural claims and uses no cultural imagery, so there is nothing here that could misrepresent a community. This was tested across the 150 pages reachable from the site's own navigation on 24 August 2026. No action is needed unless that changes.
Assessed from the public record, then reviewed once before publication, by HowLegit on its own initiative. Grey Power Electricity was not involved. What moved, and why.
Assessed from the public record, unsolicited, as part of the New Zealand energy sector scan. Grey Power Electricity did not commission it.
Environmental message integrity had been published without a grade, so the environmental score was drawn from two areas instead of three. It is now assessed against the two places environmental wording appears on the site, and graded unsubstantiated because neither carries a figure or a baseline. Environmental therefore falls from B to B-, and the overall grade from B- to C+. No other grade moved. In the same review every claim was rewritten from a source note to a reasoned assessment, thirteen claims that carried no evidence were captured and attached, and the register of risks gained an action against every item.
One company, with every graded claim, its own published wording and the dated capture each grade rests on.
You are here
The full analysis behind these grades: what the sector claims, how much of it holds up, and the seven findings that run across it.
Read it, free and without registration →
HowLegit, Grey Power Electricity — messaging integrity assessment. Energy sector register, assessed 16 July 2026. Overall C+ (58.5%). https://howlegit.com/register/Energy/grey-power-electricity A grade rules on whether a public claim is substantiated, not on its truth or on the merit of the business. Not legal or investment advice. Produced by HowLegit, which also sells audits commercially. The data on this page is public.
This entry is part of a complete sector scan. Companies not listed on the Energy register were not assessed — which is not the same as being cleared.