HowLegitThe public register
Energy
Register entry

Nova Energy

B-65.6%E B-S CC A-

Assessed 16 July 2026 under NZ · Low confidence

Evidence last captured 30 August 2026 · oldest 18 August 2026 · next re-check due 18 August 2027

We contacted this company 3 times between 6 August 2026 and 31 August 2026, by email and phone. No reply received.

A grade rules on whether a public claim is substantiated. It is not a finding about environmental performance, truthfulness, or the merit of the business. HowLegit is not a licensed adviser and nothing here is legal or investment advice.

Where this sits

All 21 energy companies, assessed against the same checklist in the same window.

Nova Energy ranks 10 of 21 in this sector by overall score, between 47.6% and 96.0%.

Findings

Renewable claims partially substantiated (solar projects real, generation assets disclosed); framing disproportionately emphasizes renewables while gas is reframed as "fast-start" for "reliability"; generation mix percentage not disclosed

Why this matters. A customer weighing an environmental claim needs to know what share of their power it covers. That figure is not published, so the claim cannot be checked.

What closing this looks like

  • Publish generation mix data (% renewable vs gas by MWh delivered)No external cost · Quick
  • Disclose Todd Corporation's emissions context alongside renewable investment narrative
  • Publish a net zero commitment with interim milestones or explicitly state no current commitment
FLAG1aspirational

Here at Nova we're committed to providing renewable and reliable energy for today, tomorrow, and into the future

Published on the Generation page. The pathway evidence is partial: two solar plants are named with capacities, two fast-start plants are named without them, and no generation mix, emissions figure or net zero commitment is published by Nova or its parent. Navigation enumeration of novaenergy.co.nz, 106 addresses, 105 captured, 18 August 2026.

Captured 30 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 1
PASS2absolute

Nova's 2.1 MW solar power plant located in Taranaki has been operating since 2021 and was the largest solar plant in New Zealand for a time

Published on the Generation page. The operating date and capacity are consistent with the Kapuni plant's public record. Navigation enumeration of novaenergy.co.nz, 106 addresses, 105 captured, 18 August 2026.

Captured 30 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 2
PASS5absolute

We are also proud to be a part of Powering Change, a collective commitment to a more sustainable future for NZ

Published on the Generation page with a link to the initiative. Membership is stated as membership and not as a certification. Navigation enumeration of novaenergy.co.nz, two rounds, 112 addresses, 111 captured, 18 August 2026.

Captured 30 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 5
PASS8contextual

Nova operates two fast-start, natural gas power plants

The Generation page names both plants, states the fuel as natural gas, gives Junction Road at 100MW commissioned 2020 and McKee at 100MW operating since 2012, shows a photograph of the plant, and links a current Thermal Fuel Disclosure dated 24 June 2026 naming the gas fields it draws on. Gas generation is disclosed in specific terms. What is not published anywhere is the resulting generation mix delivered to customers. Navigation enumeration of novaenergy.co.nz, two rounds, 112 addresses, 111 captured, plus 11 documents enumerated from the corpus's own links and all 11 retrieved, 18 August 2026.

Captured 30 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 8

Project facts verifiable (Te Rahui resource consent, Meridian JV, Kapuni operational since 2021, Powering Change membership); no emissions data, no LCA, no environmental certifications, no sustainability reporting

Why this matters. Membership of an initiative reads as a credential. Without emissions data behind it, there is nothing for a customer or a regulator to test it against.

What closing this looks like

  • Publish a greenhouse gas inventory for scopes 1 and 2 at the Nova boundary, or state which parent-level disclosure a customer should read instead and link it.Medium cost
FLAG20aspirational

"We are also proud to be a part of Powering Change, a collective commitment to a more sustainable future for NZ" is published without emissions data or generation mix

The Generation page names the Powering Change membership and describes solar and fast-start assets. It publishes no generation mix, no emissions figure, no lifecycle assessment and no third-party assurance, so a reader cannot test what the membership delivers. Navigation enumeration of novaenergy.co.nz, 106 addresses, 105 captured, 18 August 2026.

Captured 30 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 20
PASS7absolute

10 cents per kWh* (plus GST if you're GST registered)

Published on the solar buy-back page with a GST qualifier. Navigation enumeration of novaenergy.co.nz, 106 addresses, 105 captured, 18 August 2026.

Captured 18 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 7

Nova's solar investment is real and consented, and the parent's own portfolio page lists Nova's planned pipeline as solar, wind and green hydrogen. Against that, Nova holds resource consents granted on 4 May 2017 for a 360 MW gas-fired power station at Tihiroa near Otorohanga, which is referred to on no consumer-facing Nova surface, and which GlobalData records as dormant. Neither Nova nor Todd Corporation publishes a net zero commitment. Nova completed the sale of its EV charging business to The Charge Collective Limited on 5 August 2026, after the assessment date, so that activity is no longer Nova's.

Why this matters. A consented gas station that appears nowhere a customer would meet it sits against a renewable commitment made on the same site.

What closing this looks like

  • State on the Generation page that Nova holds resource consents granted in May 2017 for a 360 MW gas-fired station at Tihiroa near Otorohanga, and whether it intends to build, so the consented option sits beside the solar pipeline.No external cost
PASS3aspirational

Nova Energy Limited and Meridian Energy Limited have signalled their intent to form a 50-50 joint venture to build and operate the 400 MW Te Rahui solar farm

Published in Nova's news article of 4 February 2025, which states the capacity, the cost, the consent date and the two-stage build. The project is real and consented, the joint venture partner is named, and the parent's own portfolio page carries Te Rahui at 400 MW. The statement is accurate and specific.

Captured 18 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 3
FLAG4aspirational

As New Zealand transitions to a low emissions future, we plan to play a key role in delivering sustainable energy generation solutions

The stated plan is supported by real investment: 2.1 MW of solar operating at Kapuni, 400 MW consented at Te Rahui, and a planned pipeline the parent's portfolio page lists as solar, wind and green hydrogen. Not referred to on any Nova surface is the 360 MW gas-fired station at Tihiroa near Otorohanga, consented on 4 May 2017 and recorded by GlobalData as dormant. Navigation enumeration, 112 addresses, 111 captured, 18 August 2026.

Captured 18 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 4

Nova publishes an unqualified undertaking not to disconnect medically dependent consumers for non-payment, and publishes the apparatus behind it: a Medical Dependency Register, Health Practitioner verification and emergency planning. Nova self-reported to the Electricity Authority on 9 September 2025 that the same premises were disconnected on 5 May 2025, for more than 57 hours, and again on 26 June 2025, and the Authority appointed an investigator on 9 December 2025. The Authority describes the breaches as alleged, has made no finding, and its register records the matter as open. The undertaking is published in the same document, with the same effective date of 28 March 2025, that was in force on both occasions.

Why this matters. A published undertaking and the events Nova reported to its regulator do not sit together, and the people affected depend on electricity for their health.

What closing this looks like

  • Disclose EA investigation status and remediation actions on the vulnerable consumer pageNo external cost · Quick
  • Publish complaint resolution data (volumes, resolution rates, average time to resolution)
  • Commission independent MDC protection audit post-investigationMedium cost · Short
  • Reconcile survey-based satisfaction (Consumer NZ) with review-platform data (Trustpilot, Google) in a public-facing quality report
  • Publish a response-time standard the customer service promise can be tested against, naming the channels and the times Nova holds itself to, and report against it. Nova already publishes complaint timeframes of two, seven and twenty working days; extending the same treatment to answering a call is what would let a reader check "ready to answer your call quickly". If no standard is set, remove the speed wording and keep the location statement, which is accurate and needs no support.No external cost
PASS1absolute

Proudly Kiwi-owned

Published on the About us page. Todd Corporation is New Zealand owned and controlled, so the claim is substantiated at the ownership level. Navigation enumeration of novaenergy.co.nz, 106 addresses, 105 captured, 18 August 2026.

Captured 18 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 1
PASS11absolute

Megatel's Customer Care team is joining Nova, so you can continue to receive support in Chinese and Korean

Published in the Megatel migration article. The site also offers te reo Maori, Korean and simplified Chinese in its language switcher. Navigation enumeration of novaenergy.co.nz, two rounds, 112 addresses, 111 captured, 18 August 2026.

Captured 18 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 11
FLAG2aspirational

That's why our Customer Service Team is based right here in New Zealand, ready to answer your call quickly and make things easy

The graded object is the service promise, not the location of the team, which is a checkable fact and is not in question. "Ready to answer your call quickly" sets an expectation about speed. Nova publishes complaint timeframes and is credited for them: two working days to acknowledge, seven to respond, twenty to resolve. It publishes no commitment and no measure for answering a call on any of 111 pages and 14 documents, checked 18 August and re-checked live 30 August 2026.

Captured 30 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 2
PASS3absolute

We're proud to be recognised with four wins at the NZ Compare Awards, celebrating our commitment to outstanding power, broadband, and mobile services

Published on the About us page and the business page with the four badges shown. The awards are attributable to a named programme and year. Navigation enumeration of novaenergy.co.nz, two rounds, 112 addresses, 111 captured, 18 August 2026.

Captured 18 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 3
FLAG4aspirational

committed to keeping you safe and connected

Published on the Customer Care page. The commitment is broad and carries no measure of safety or continuity of supply against which it could be tested. Navigation enumeration of novaenergy.co.nz, 106 addresses, 105 captured, 18 August 2026.

Captured 18 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 4

Customer Care Policy documented and aligned with EA Consumer Care Obligations, Gas Industry Company Guidelines, and NZ Telecommunications Forum Guidelines. Complaint process published (20 working days target). External escalation paths documented (Utilities Disputes, TDR). However, the active EA investigation for MDC disconnection -- the most material social risk -- is NOT disclosed on any consumer-facing page.

Why this matters. A policy that names the obligations it follows sets the standard it will be read against. An open investigation into those same obligations belongs beside it.

What closing this looks like

  • Publish the status of the Electricity Authority investigation and what has changed since on the medically dependent and vulnerable customers page.No external cost
FLAG21absolute

"Our Customer Care Policy is aligned to the Electricity Authority's Consumer Care Obligations" is published without reference to the current investigation into compliance with them

The Customer Care Policy states it is aligned to the Electricity Authority's Consumer Care Obligations, the Gas Industry Company's Gas Consumer Care Guidelines and the NZ Telecommunications Forum's Customer Care Code. The Electricity Authority appointed an investigation on 9 December 2025 into the alleged disconnection of a medically dependent consumer by Nova Energy Limited, one of five investigations announced across three participants that day. No Nova surface refers to it. Navigation enumeration of novaenergy.co.nz, 106 addresses, 105 captured, 18 August 2026.

Captured 18 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 21
PASS6absolute

We take our obligation to assist customers in vulnerable circumstances seriously

Published on the medically dependent and vulnerable customers page, which also defines who Nova treats as a vulnerable consumer and allows an alternative contact to be nominated. Navigation enumeration of novaenergy.co.nz, two rounds, 112 addresses, 111 captured, 18 August 2026.

Captured 18 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 6

Te Rahui is named in te reo and the page explains what the name means rather than leaving it as decoration: it sets out the practice of rahui and what it protects, with macrons used correctly throughout. Every page offers te reo Maori, Korean and simplified Chinese alongside English, and multilingual support carried over from Megatel. Against that, the commitment to meaningful engagement with mana whenua names no iwi or hapu, no mechanism and no outcome, and no workforce diversity information is published. The cultural reference is handled with care and the substance behind it is not shown.

Why this matters. Borrowing a cultural name carries an obligation to show what stands behind it. The name is handled well; the relationship is not evidenced.

What closing this looks like

  • Name the iwi or hapu engaged on Te Rahui and the mechanism used, so the commitment to meaningful engagement with mana whenua can be read as a practice rather than a phrase.No external cost
FLAG24aspirational

In line with this spirit, we have as initiated an integrated environmental and social programme that includes significant restoration of the environment and meaningful engagement with mana whenua

This sits immediately after the page explains that Te Rahui is named for the practice of rahui and what that practice protects, which is a careful use of the reference rather than a decorative one. The commitment that follows names no iwi or hapu, no mechanism for the engagement and no outcome from it, and the programme is not described anywhere else on the site or in any published document. Assessed against 111 captured pages carrying 578 images and 310 background images, and 11 documents retrieved from the corpus's own links, 18 August 2026.

Captured 18 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 24

Nova presents itself as an award winning service on the homepage, the business page and the About us page. Independent review platforms carry a different picture, read on 30 August 2026: Trustpilot rates it 1.4 out of 5 across 69 reviews on an unclaimed profile, and Google Maps 2.2 out of 5 across 42 reviews. A Consumer NZ survey placed Nova third at 74 per cent in October 2024, a figure this assessment could not verify because Consumer NZ publishes its survey results to members only. The gap between the survey result and the review platforms is not addressed anywhere Nova speaks.

Why this matters. When the service rating a customer meets on Nova's own pages and the one they meet everywhere else point opposite ways, the unexplained gap is the risk.

What closing this looks like

  • Publish a service quality note setting the Consumer NZ result beside the review platform ratings, stating the method, date and sample of each.No external cost
FLAG19absolute

"Award winning service" is published without reference to the entity's published review-platform ratings

Published on the homepage, the business page and the About us page. The graded object is Nova's own award positioning, not the review scores, which are evidence about the entity rather than a statement by it. Read on 30 August 2026, Trustpilot rates novaenergy.co.nz 1.4 out of 5 across 69 reviews and describes it as Bad, on a profile Nova has not claimed, and Google Maps rates the Whakatane office 2.2 out of 5 across 42 reviews. Both are captured. The Consumer NZ result of 74 per cent and third place, dated October 2024, is cited in this assessment and could not be verified: Consumer NZ publishes survey results to members only and no public page carrying it was reachable on 30 August 2026, which is a limitation of this assessment rather than a finding about either party. Nova addresses the difference between the two kinds of measure nowhere.

Captured 18 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 19

No measurable social outcome is published. The Electricity Authority investigation, which is the most material social matter facing Nova, is not referred to in any consumer messaging. Community presence rests on commercial sponsorship arrangements rather than a published community investment programme. No workforce diversity data is published, and no iwi partnership appears beyond the Te Rahui consent consultation.

Why this matters. Sponsorships and staff benefits are real but they are inputs. Nothing published shows what changed for anyone as a result.

What closing this looks like

  • Publish one measurable social outcome each year, starting with complaint volumes and resolution rates against the published 20 working day target.No external cost
FLAG10aspirational

we have as initiated an integrated environmental and social programme that includes significant restoration of the environment and meaningful engagement with mana whenua

Published on the Generation page in relation to Te Rahui. The engagement is described in general terms. No participants, no mechanism and no outcome are published, so the commitment cannot be tested. Navigation enumeration of novaenergy.co.nz, two rounds, 112 addresses, 111 captured, 18 August 2026.

Captured 18 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 10
PASS12absolute

Parental leave enhancement payments, volunteer leave, long service leave, and the opportunity to purchase an additional week of annual leave

Published on the Careers page as a list of provisions. Navigation enumeration of novaenergy.co.nz, two rounds, 112 addresses, 111 captured, 18 August 2026.

Captured 18 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 12
FLAG8aspirational

Care We care about each other, the job we do, and our customers. Dare We put our hand up, get involved and make things happen. Share We work together and share knowledge to achieve great things. Cheer We encourage each other and celebrate a job well-done.

Published on the Careers page under Our values, as four named values each with a one-line description. They are internal culture statements with no measure attached and no external reporting against them, so they read as intent rather than as outcome. Navigation enumeration of novaenergy.co.nz, two rounds, 112 addresses, 111 captured, plus 11 documents enumerated from the corpus's own links and all 11 retrieved, 18 August 2026.

Captured 18 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 8

"Great value made easy" is the headline positioning claim. Independent research (MoneyHub) characterizes Nova as "middle-of-the-road" with "Better deals are most probably found with other providers." Specific claims ("no fixed term, no break-fees, no worries" on standard plans) are substantiated by General Terms. Multisaver discounts (up to 5% electricity, 10% gas) documented. The headline positioning overstates what independent evidence supports.

Why this matters. Value is the reason a customer switches. A value claim with no figure behind it is the one most likely to be tested by a regulator.

What closing this looks like

  • Qualify "great value" positioning with specific evidence (comparative analysis, survey data, savings examples) or modify to defensible language
FLAG1absolute

Great value made easy

Published as the headline position on the homepage and the About us page. No rate is published on any of the 111 pages collected, so a reader cannot test a comparative value claim on the surface that makes it. MoneyHub, a commercial comparison site, reached the same view from a five-city sample in a review dated 15 August 2024, and it is recorded as context rather than as the basis for this grade. Navigation enumeration of novaenergy.co.nz, 112 addresses, 111 captured, 18 August 2026.

Captured 18 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 1
PASS14absolute

Endless Data 10GB Max Speed Data

Published on the mobile plans card. The card states the threshold at which full speed ends, 5GB or 10GB depending on the plan, without the reader opening anything, and the page states that endless data continues at reduced speed and that hotspotting may be reduced further during network congestion. Traffic management on those terms is ordinary and it is disclosed. The one detail that sits inside an Important Information dialog rather than beside the offer is the 1.2Mbps figure, which is carried in the disclosure prominence flag. Checked in a browser on 30 August 2026.

Captured 18 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 14
PASS2absolute

No fixed terms, no break-fees, no worries

Published on the electricity plans page against the No Fixed Term and Multisaver plans, and consistent with the general terms for residential energy customers. Navigation enumeration of novaenergy.co.nz, 106 addresses, 105 captured, 18 August 2026.

Captured 18 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 2

Nova's electricity plans page offers "great pricing" and publishes no rate, no indicative range and no comparator against which a reader could test it. Rates are address-specific and returned through the sign-up flow, which is ordinary in this market and is context rather than a finding. Against that, the fee schedule is complete and current at $25 late payment, $10 payment dishonour, $30 broken payment arrangement, $2 paper bill and 1 per cent card processing, the general terms give 30 days notice of a price change, and no scarcity tactic appears anywhere.

Why this matters. A value claim a reader cannot test on the page that makes it is the exposure, and the cost of falling behind is published in a form that understates it.

What closing this looks like

  • Publish an indicative rate range by network region on the electricity plans page, so the pricing wording on that page can be tested before a customer enters the sign-up flow.No external cost
PASS13absolute

A late payment fee of $25 may apply if you don't pay your bill on time

The service fees page publishes the full fee schedule with current and forward-dated amounts. Navigation enumeration of novaenergy.co.nz, two rounds, 112 addresses, 111 captured, 18 August 2026.

Captured 18 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 13
FLAG22absolute

Stay flexible while enjoying great pricing

"Great pricing" is a comparative claim, and the electricity plans page that makes it publishes no rate, no indicative range and no comparator, so a reader has no means to test it there. Rates are address-specific and returned through the sign-up flow, which is ordinary in this market and is why the claim cannot be tested rather than being the finding itself. The fee schedule is published in full and is current. Navigation enumeration, 112 addresses, 111 captured, 18 August 2026, re-confirmed live 30 August 2026.

Captured 18 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 22
PASS8absolute

any changes will not apply to you until 30 days after we have given you Notice

Published in the general terms for residential energy customers, with a further undertaking to communicate individually and not less than 30 days ahead where an increase is material. Navigation enumeration of novaenergy.co.nz, two rounds, 112 addresses, 111 captured, 18 August 2026.

Captured 18 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 8

Nova's imagery matches what it owns: the Generation page shows its solar plants in the landscape they sit in and shows the gas plant as an industrial photograph, at the same prominence and on the same page. Environmental imagery appears only where environmental substance exists and is absent from the plans, join and billing pages. There is no generic environmental iconography anywhere on the site, and the brand palette is orange rather than green. The visual framing is more candid than the written framing.

Why this matters. What a company shows you is the fastest thing you read. Nova's pictures do not promise more than its assets deliver.

PASS23contextual

Nova operates two fast-start, natural gas power plants

The Generation page places this sentence under the heading Fast-start generation and illustrates it with a photograph of the plant itself, directly below the solar imagery and at the same prominence. The gas assets are shown rather than implied, which is the opposite of the framing risk this area tests for. Assessed against 111 captured pages carrying 578 images and 310 background images, and 11 documents retrieved from the corpus's own links, 18 August 2026.

Captured 30 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 23

Nova's environmental messaging sits on the Generation page and does not carry into the homepage, the plans pages, the join page or the billing pages. That is consistency in the direction that protects a customer: the risk this area exists to catch is an environmental claim that grows stronger towards the point of sale, and Nova makes none there at all. A customer can select a plan, sign up and pay a bill without meeting an environmental claim they would then have to test.

Why this matters. Nova does not use environmental messaging to sell, so a customer's purchase decision does not rest on a claim they cannot check.

What closing this looks like

  • Carry one line of the generation position onto the electricity plans page and the join page, so a customer meets it while choosing rather than only on the Generation page.No external cost

The complaints page provides phone on 0800 668 236, email and postal contact, and states a resolution timeframe of 20 working days with a 40 day maximum. External escalation is documented and free to the customer: Utilities Disputes on 0800 22 33 40 for energy, and the Telecommunications Dispute Resolution scheme on 0508 989 898. An alternative contact route is published for vulnerable consumers. All mechanisms are accessible and functional.

Why this matters. A customer who needs to complain can find the channel, the timeframe and the free escalation route. This one works.

PASS7absolute

We will attempt to resolve your complaint within 20 working days

Published with the complaint channels, the longer maximum, and free escalation to Utilities Disputes for energy and to the Telecommunications Dispute Resolution scheme for telecommunications, both with phone numbers. Navigation enumeration of novaenergy.co.nz, two rounds, 112 addresses, 111 captured, 18 August 2026.

Captured 18 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 7

The NZ Compare Awards for People's Choice and Best Customer Support are attributable to a named programme and year, and the Consumer NZ third place of October 2024 is independently verifiable. The Multisaver discount structure is documented in the terms and the solar buy-back rate is published at 10c per kWh. The general terms commit to 30 days notice before a price change takes effect. Most specific commercial claims carry proportionate evidence.

Why this matters. Specific commercial claims here carry proportionate evidence, which is what a customer needs to compare offers.

PASS11absolute

10 cents per kWh* (plus GST if you're GST registered)

Published on the solar buy-back page with a GST qualifier. Navigation enumeration of novaenergy.co.nz, 106 addresses, 105 captured, 18 August 2026.

Captured 18 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 11
PASS15contextual

No modem rental, free use of two Nokia Beacons

Published on the broadband plans page and repeated on the Powerful WiFi page, where the $15 delivery fee is also stated. Navigation enumeration of novaenergy.co.nz, two rounds, 112 addresses, 111 captured, 18 August 2026.

Captured 18 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 15
PASS3absolute

Save up to 5% See electricity plans

The Multisaver page publishes each discount against the service it applies to, with the bundling condition and the consent requirement stated on the same page. Navigation enumeration of novaenergy.co.nz, two rounds, 112 addresses, 111 captured, 18 August 2026.

Captured 18 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 3

Awards are specific and attributed to named programmes. The four NZ Compare Awards 2025 are published on the homepage, the business page and the About us page, shown as badges and described in body copy. No unsupported superiority claim was identified. Two further awards Nova is associated with, a Deloitte Energy Excellence award and a Roy Morgan customer satisfaction award, appear on third-party comparison listings and on no Nova surface across 111 pages.

Why this matters. Awards are named, dated and attributable, so a customer can check them.

PASS4absolute

We're proud to be recognised with four wins at the NZ Compare Awards

Published on the About us page and the business page, with the four award badges shown alongside, and itemised in the Megatel migration article. The programme is named and the year is stated. Navigation enumeration of novaenergy.co.nz, two rounds, 112 addresses, 111 captured, 18 August 2026.

Captured 18 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 4

The refund policy is documented: assessment case by case, three working days to process, and the first two refunds free in any twelve months with $7.50 charged thereafter. Bond amounts are published at $150 for electricity, gas or broadband and $300 for dual fuel, and complaint resolution timeframes are stated at 20 working days with a 40 day maximum. Megatel customers migrating to Nova could switch away without penalty. Conditions are disclosed throughout, though the refund processing timeframe itself appears on no Nova surface across 111 pages.

Why this matters. Refunds, bonds and exit terms are published with their conditions, so a customer can see the cost of leaving before they join.

PASS10absolute

We will attempt to resolve your complaint within 20 working days

Published on Nova's complaint pages and in the Customer Care Policy, which also states the longer maximum and the free external escalation routes. Navigation enumeration of novaenergy.co.nz, two rounds, 112 addresses, 111 captured, 18 August 2026.

Captured 18 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 10
PASS16absolute

You're free to move to another retailer at any time, without penalty

Published in the Megatel migration article. The exit condition is stated without qualification. Navigation enumeration of novaenergy.co.nz, two rounds, 112 addresses, 111 captured, 18 August 2026.

Captured 18 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 16

Nova listed on all major NZ comparison platforms: Powerswitch (Consumer NZ), PowerCompare, Glimp, Canstar, MoneyHub, Selectra, Billy.govt.nz, SwitchMe. This is a significant transparency improvement over Megatel (which opted out of comparison platforms). Terms organized in accessible hub with separate documents per service type. Nova recommends billy.govt.nz (independent government comparison tool) on its own website.

Why this matters. Nova appears on the comparison tools customers actually use, and points to the government one from its own footer. That is the behaviour this area looks for.

PASS12contextual

We're committed to making things easy with straightforward plans and bills, and an easy-to-use Nova Hub online account

The Nova Hub page describes the account and app functions. Nova also links billy.govt.nz, the Electricity Authority's independent comparison tool, from the footer of every page. Navigation enumeration of novaenergy.co.nz, two rounds, 112 addresses, 111 captured, 18 August 2026.

Captured 18 August 2026 · source page ↗

Capture supporting 12

Nova discloses its ownership on the About us page, naming Todd Corporation, which several retailers in this scan do not do. As at 30 August 2026 the wording also names the generation assets, including solar and fast start gas peaking plants. The tone of the commercial material is consistent with what the company is and does not borrow standing it has not earned.

Why this matters. Ownership is disclosed and named, which is what this area asks and what a reader needs to know who they are buying from.

No comparative environmental claim is made that would require a baseline. The Generation page describes the Kapuni plant as having been the largest solar plant in New Zealand for a time, which is a historical statement of fact rather than a comparison against a named competitor, and it is consistent with the public record. Nothing in this area is withheld.

Why this matters. Nothing here is withheld, so nothing is at stake for a customer.

Fixed something on this list? Regrades are free — two a year for every company on the register, whether or not they are a client. We reassess against the same checklist and publish the new dated result. How regrades and right of reply work →

What has changed since first assessment

Assessed from the public record, then reviewed four times before publication. Each review was carried out by HowLegit on its own initiative. Nova Energy was not involved. What moved, and why.

  1. 16 July 2026First assessmentFirst assessmentC

    Assessed from the public record, unsolicited, as part of the New Zealand energy sector scan. Nova Energy did not commission it.

  2. 18 August 2026Quality assurance reviewOur correctionC

    Evidence base recollected: 105 pages captured against 5 previously. Claim wording restated to the entity's own published wording throughout. Five claims added, one withdrawn as a third-party listing. Diagnostic flags published. No grade changed and the overall score did not move.

  3. 18 August 2026Visual assessment completedOur correctionC+

    Visual and cultural framing were assessed for the first time against 111 captured pages. Both areas had been recorded as not assessed because the earlier evidence set held no usable imagery. Visual framing was found sound; cultural integrity falls short on the substance behind a stated engagement commitment.

  4. 30 August 2026Grading rulingOur correctionC+

    The undertaking not to disconnect medically dependent consumers for non-payment is assessed as unsubstantiated rather than disproved. The Electricity Authority describes the breaches as alleged, has made no finding, and its register records the investigation as open. Social moves from C- to C and the overall from 56.5 to 58.8, both within the C plus band overall.

  5. 30 August 2026Claim construction reviewOur correctionB-

    Three items were graded as claims that are not claims Nova makes: what its parent does, the absence of environmental messaging from its sales pages, and a regulatory allegation the Authority has not concluded. All three move to the diagnostic layer, where they are still published and still read. Ownership disclosure and customer journey consistency are assessed as sound on their own terms.

Cite this

The public register
This company's register entry

One company, with every graded claim, its own published wording and the dated capture each grade rests on.

You are here

The sector report
How legit is New Zealand's electricity sector?

The full analysis behind these grades: what the sector claims, how much of it holds up, and the seven findings that run across it.

Read it, free and without registration →

Share this

https://howlegit.com/register/Energy/nova-energy

Hear about the next scan

What we have audited and what we found. Occasional, and you can stop at any time.

HowLegit, Nova Energy — messaging integrity assessment.
Energy sector register, assessed 16 July 2026.
Overall B- (65.6%).
https://howlegit.com/register/Energy/nova-energy

A grade rules on whether a public claim is substantiated, not on its
truth or on the merit of the business. Not legal or investment advice.
Produced by HowLegit, which also sells audits commercially. The data on
this page is public.

This entry is part of a complete sector scan. Companies not listed on the Energy register were not assessed — which is not the same as being cleared.